Two Little Girls and Chocolate

This is a photo of my daughter, Brigid, when she was two years old. It’s Christmas time and I’m guessing she was eating truffles that my sister, Katie, had made.

EPSON MFP image

Have you ever seen a more miserable looking kid? Oh my gosh, I laugh every time I see this photo. She’s got the chocolate, milk (with a straw because she’s at grandma’s house), her plug and she looks like she is coming down off some really bad shit.

The other day I was looking for photos for my sisters’ birthday blog and I found this photo:

EPSON MFP image

That’s me. No idea what is going on other than that tiny woman in the background is my mother. This photo was developed in November 1966 which means my brother John was less than 6 months old and that’s what my mom looks like. Sigh. I didn’t get those genes.

Anyway, isn’t that funny? Funny peculiar not funny haha. Brigid and I both wearing red, both clearly not well after a serious wrestling match with some chocolate.

This isn’t much of a blog but such an odd coincidence or at least, it is to me.

Have you ever had these sorts of weird connections over time with your kids? or ancestors?

Is it just me? It is? OK. I’ll go do some laundry.

13 thoughts on “Two Little Girls and Chocolate

  1. I have this picture of Husband, he’s probably 4 in it, and he’s bawling his eyes out standing next to a creepy clown. It was his birthday. He made me swear we would never have a clown at our kids’ birthday parties, so I’ll never have a clown coincidence shot. I’m thankful, really.

    1. My sister still can’t handle clowns and there was never a clown birthday party. I don’t know what happened. I still occasionally send her scary clown things just to entertain myself.

  2. unfetteredbs

    You do look like you are in pure Heaven with that chocolate. I think this is a pretty cool coincidence. I am sure she appreciates you posting it too haa

  3. I love those kinds of cosmic mash-ups.
    I have one rather interesting one…I guess it falls into this category…
    My Grandmother was born in 1933 andgave birth to her first child at age 22 in the year 1955. My Mother (that same child) was born 1955 and at the age of 22 gave birth to her first child (me) in 1977.
    We are all first born, all women, all 22 years apart, and all born in double digit years. 1988 and 1999 also ushered in double digit ages for us.
    It’s all messed up now with the millenium rolling over, but in 2011 we were all still double digits until March 18 (my mom’s birthday) so we celebrated with a girl’s only weekend.
    So that’s my story. There was chocolate involved on many occasions.

  4. My mum and I look really alike! To the extent when I was a teenager we found some old photos and I was getting really weirded out by the fact that I appeared to have gone on a holiday to a beach that I had NO MEMORY of! That is until my dad stopped teasing me and revealed that the girl in the picture was actually my mum, as teenagers we were completely identical bar eye colour.

  5. Pingback: A bit of world-saving and a bit of award-receiving | lazylauramaisey

What do YOU think of me?