A Family of Names

My parents names are John and Joan. Their siblings names are Anita, Agnes Marie, Catherine, Dennis, Gerard, John, Maryann.

All of the children of those families are: Maggie, John, Katie, Molly, Michael, Randy, John, David, Jennifer, Mary, Tricia, Michael, Bill, Jane, and I think I’m missing 3 others from that family, Michael, Patrick, Tom, Yvonne, Louise, Anita, and I’m missing one from that family, John, Jane, Sean, Patrick, Tim, Peggy, Kathleen.

awesome irish

I have a cousin Michael who has a son named Tim, not my first cousin Tim…a different Tim.

My full name is Margaret Mary and my cousin Mary’s full name is Mary Margaret. We also have a Meg and a Peggy.

One of my other cousin’s Michael has a daughter named Cailin. My sister Katie is Catherine as is my aunt who goes by Kitty. And there’s Kathleen.

My cousin Tricia is married to a guy named Matt and their son is named John Matthew. My sister Molly’s son is Matthew John.

So we have four Johns, five if you count Sean (and I believe there’s an argument for being Gaelic-ly inclusive.)

meanwhile-in-ireland_o_321790

My maternal grandfather’s name is Walter Michael. I have a cousin named John Walter and then a few Michaels on both sides of the family because Irish.

My paternal grandfather’s name is John Joseph, as is my dad’s, as is my brother’s. My Uncle Gerry named his son John Joseph and tried to call him John Joseph III which caused a battle and resulted in my dad and uncle not speaking to each other because Irish. (As a matter of fact, I think that uncle was dead for months before I even heard about it, “Gerry? He died months ago.” Ahhh, thanks.)

irish calmThis is all apropos of nothing except that I was trying to name all my cousins the other night. I do that instead of counting sheep when trying to go to sleep.

irishsarcasm

I leave for vacation tomorrow night. I think I may schedule some greatest hits posts because who out there isn’t going to feel a bit less fulfilled, a little emptier in my absence?

 

Tagged ,

13 thoughts on “A Family of Names

  1. mcowder says:

    Ha! Too funny! Thanks for brightening my Thursday afternoon, you WILL be missed while on vacation! 😉 Have fun!

  2. Margarita says:

    Trying to name all your cousins instead of sheep sounds too stimulating to induce sleep, Maggie. Have a FABULOUS vacation, sweetie! xoxoM

  3. Brigitte says:

    Oh Maggie. Such a nice Irish lass you are there naming your kin. So funny, Margaret Mary. I have Irish and French on my Mom’s side but I don’t have all these cousins. We Irish, we’re a stubborn lot, aren’t we now? Safe travels Maggie my girl. May the road rise up to meet you.

    And a few of those summery cocktails with the pretty umbrellas too. ;).

  4. jccrosby2014 says:

    Had to share with my Irish lady friend. Please posts some best of! Have a blast! Miss and love you! Bibi

  5. I loved this! Especially the two wee whiskey drinkers!

  6. markbialczak says:

    You can start a game show, Maggie. I can name that cousin in two shots.

  7. Erin E. says:

    My grandfather, dad, brother, uncle, and two male cousins went on a boys trip to Ireland last August. Their names are: John Henry, Mark Edward, and Kevin Patrick. 6 people, 3 names. My husband also tagged along. His name is Adam, and he was not nearly as popular with the locals.

    Have fun on your vacay!

  8. ha ha 🙂 I don’t have nearly so many cousins, and we don’t share names as much…though there’s Roberts and Johns all the way back x

  9. Good Woman says:

    A very interesting topic for a post. And creative. I would never have thought of this. I have 7 brothers and sisters and 45 first cousins so it would take me some time to sort this out. I love the humor attached to your post. 4 Johns (or 5 if you include Sean) is hilarious.

  10. goldentorchmagazine says:

    Reblogged this on .

  11. 47733 says:

    I enjoyed visiting your Blog! I’m currently following your site. When you get a moment, please support my site with a LIKE and FOLLOW as well.

    Express With Nejae !
    https://expresswithnejae.wordpress.com/

    Thanks a Bunch!
    NeJae

What do YOU think of me?

