Fiddy

Last Thursday the 26th was Jackie Gleason’s birthday so we all know what that means.

Last Thursday was my birthday. Fiddy. Five Oh. Half a hundred. I am 50 years old.

Fifty. Years. Old.

It’s not bad at all. I was caught by surprise at how much I missed my mother. I wish she were here, there are times you want to share big events with your mom.

I started the morning with a good long walk with my boyfriend, Mudd.

I have binge watched “Scandal”.

I'm not kidding.

I’m not kidding.

I went tanning because we leave for Nevis on the 6th and I want to have a base. Nice thing about being 50: when the young man, who wasn’t even born the last time I went tanning, told me he likes to tour new customers around so he can charge them more money see which bed is the best for the customer’s skin type; I had no problem saying “I really don’t want to do that.” Done. Six minutes of tanning and I’m on my way to my tropic skin cancer bronze beauty.

Another being 50 bonus: I readily give myself a break. I have already broken my vow not to eat bread during Lent. Duh, Lent is hard, I wouldn’t have lasted 20 minutes in the desert.

I will be celebrating my birthday for a couple of weeks. I was in San Francisco this past weekend with my other spouse, Lisa.

Someday we are going to have to send out our own Christmas card.

Someday we are going to have to send out our own Christmas card.

We had a really great time. I got to meet some of Lisa’s friends and we spent time with Jane T. my Colgate pal.

mejanegoldengate

Golden Gate Bridge in the background

 

I went out to dinner with two of my oldest, longest…how do you say that? I have known Julie since 1972 and Gretchen since 1977. We go back a ways and that was hilarious as our monthly dinners are.

I had lunch at Danni’s yesterday and got to snuggle her 6 OUNCE foster kitten and play with her two roly poly foster puppies and eat bread.

Magnolia Kitty

Magnolia Kitty

I got cards and flowers and lovely gifts and it was a happy, happy day. And then I watched more Scandal. And then I realized I have no idea what the hell is going on on Scandal.

Tagged , , ,

17 thoughts on “Fiddy

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Love your attitude. It’s such a relief as we get older to recognize that the little things that aren’t important don’t deserve our obsessing over.

    Happy Birthday!

  2. wheresyourmom says:

    Happy Birthday, Dearest Cousin! Love, Mary Margaret

  3. Margarita says:

    Happy birthday, Maggie. The journey you’re beginning at 50 is FABULOUS! xoxoM

  4. Erin E. says:

    Happy belated birthday! I’m such a conflict-avoiding sissy I would love to be 50 if it means I finally get balls to say no to pushy sales people! Hubby and I recently bought a new car and if it wasn’t for him, I would have paid full asking price, like a total schmuck.

  5. joeyjoank says:

    The 50’s are fun. Last Thursday was my hubby’s 53rd and the 10th was my 56. In your 50’s things happen that well you really don’t want to celebrate, but you also get to that point where you are who you are and you know what you do and don’t want and have no fear saying it. So liberating. Happy Birthday keep on enjoying. Lovely lovely photos of you and your spouse, as well as your friends, such a cutie kitten.

  6. Kasie says:

    What do I think of you? Love you! Happy birthday year.

  7. Happy birthday, Mag. From the pictures, it looks like you’re holding up very well for being 350 in dog years. I’m sure that your boyfriend, Mudd, would bark in agreement. That tiny kitten is adorable! Have a great getaway!

  8. Luciana Gomes says:

    I loved the post! Happy birthday! <3<3

What do YOU think of me?

