Misc. January

Brigid is no longer a student at Lake Oswego High School. She’s not a student anywhere right now but we will get her registered at her new high school tomorrow. You know the best thing about withdrawing your kid from high school? When the counseling office admin says, “Don’t take this the wrong way but you have such a cute figure, you look great in those leggings.” Here’s news, there is no wrong way to take that. I will now strut my stuff for the rest of the day!

Unless you are me, of course.

Unless you are me, of course.

This month is the three year anniversary of this blog. I have over 5,000 followers and I think some of the new ones are real people. I tried to write my Dear Judy blog but it didn’t work. I couldn’t write it. Isn’t that odd? It’s just typing in the same program that I’m typing in now but the voice was different and I couldn’t get comfortable. I’m happy to be back here and I thank all my pals for sticking around for the past three years and am happy to see some new regulars.

Now that Annie is in at AADA, I have decided to bother with financial aid. I have done absolutely ZERO research into how all of that works. My strategery there is “if I look into financial aid, I will jinx her getting in…. so do nothing.” And hello, it worked!

Derwood broke the computer. We have no computer at home. He dropped the laptop and the screen broke inside. It’s a bummer and I need to buy a new one but it is also quite liberating. I’m free to do a ton of other things because I’m not looking at the computer. For those who are new here, I don’t have a SmartPhone so I just go without the interwebs! This past weekend, I had no email or Facebook or Google or IMDB, it was just fine.

broken computer

The shit got real when the wifi went down and I couldn’t get Hulu. Hulu is my new thing. I found “Devious Maids” there, which is fabulous trash. Hulu has Bob Newhart and Mary Tyler Moore. I tend to live in other decades sometimes so those shows are perfect. AND! I have started watching “The Mindy Project” which is laugh out load, choke on it funny. Then the wifi went down. I called Comcast. The computer told me they were aware of the problem and that I was not alone. It was my “area”. My “area” was down. This was the part of the weekend where I started seeing spiders and picking bugs off me. I’m nothing without my wifi. I tried On Demand but “Mildred Pierce” was too theatrical, too sophisticated.  And I think Kate Winslet got thin. No one fell down or had ridiculous birthday parties with a best friend in a wheelchair or looked like a normal size woman. None of that happens in “Mildred Pierce”.

It took an hour or so but the earth returned to its axis; “The Mindy Project” and all the other joys of Hulu returned.

I’m also reading. Finished my 2nd book of the year The Secret History by Donna Tartt. She is one of my new favorite authors. She is a gifted storyteller. I highly recommend this book. I also highly recommend that when you hit the last 50 pages or so, make sure you have peace and quiet to read them. You don’t want any interruptions. You don’t want people coming in and out of the room where you are reading to see if the IPhone they found is working or if that is the old one or why it rings if you call it from the same number on the new phone. You don’t want that. Trust me.

credit to Geek Blogger 04

credit to Geek Blogger 04

 

 

18 thoughts on “Misc. January

  1. Addie says:

    My brain remains befuddled (what a great word!), so, when I started reading your first paragraph, with the leggings comment (how did you not bitchslap him?), I thought the blog title was Miss January. *sigh*

    On to the rest–I’m currently reading the Tartt book. She really is good, isn’t she? I started Devious Maids and The Mindy Project is just so damn good! I’m so happy (and I speak for many silent readers) you are back blogging again. You are very, very good at this. Don’t stop again, okay?

  2. Ha! Great to have you back. Also, your jugs are what the admin should have complimented probably, right? Hello??? Lol.

  3. Lily Bart says:

    Donna Tartt will stop being your new favorite author when you finish “secret history”. Just
    pretend she is Harper Lee bc your’re gonna hate her second novel.

  4. Jon Y says:

    You are the best and the most…there.. I said it.

  5. I also loved The Secret History. Did she also write The Goldfinch? I’ve a feeling she did and that is also very very good.
    On a different point, I recently left Facebook….! I know. Crazy. I wouldn’t say I felt liberated and like I’ve woken from a haze. In fact, it didn’t make that much difference and when I go back briefly (once a week ish), there is hardly anything of interest to see.
    Maybe I’ll break the computer and the wifi and see if I cope?!

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Goldfinch won a Pulitzer so that is next on my list. I need to start looking at Booker prize winning books, too. LLM, don’t mess with the Wifi because there goes Netflix. I’m telling you, don’t do it!!!

  6. Charlotte says:

    I’m reading The Goldfinch at the moment and absolutely loving it – I’m about 2/3 of the way through and it has been excellent so far. I’m looking forward to reading her earlier stuff.

  7. oh2bhuman says:

    Love reading your blog…3 years…wow…excellent..

What do YOU think of me?

