She Did It!

This post is just a little bit of crowing by a proud mama.

Annie got into the American Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York City! She starts in September!

GAHHHHHH!!!!!!

annie behrens green

I am so proud of her. She has had a rough four years. Aside from the highs and lows of being a teenager, she has also battled anxiety and depression. She has struggled academically. Annie doesn’t test well and she has trouble memorizing information.

Unless of course she needs to memorize a script. That she can do and it makes her come alive.

I was concerned that she wouldn’t be ready for her audition this past Saturday because she was deep in depression in November and December and we were working to get her meds right. The meds kicked in. Annie had great material. She was in the audition/interview for about an hour while her father and I sat outside and waited.

I will never forget her walking toward us after the interview. She knew the woman from AADA was right behind her so she was mouthing, “I NAILED IT!!!” After all of her struggles, she nailed it and she knew it.

The audition was on the 17th and she was accepted yesterday! What? After jumping up and down and calling people to shriek “She got in!”, I went and looked at the school’s website. The auditions are being held around the country and in Europe till the end of June. AADA has rolling admissions so they accept people into the program as they go. I’m guessing they really wanted her because they could have just waited to see who else auditioned and then let her in.

Whatever, I’m just thrilled to pieces. The one thing I did in all of this was to get out of her way. She has the talent and the drive and she is on her way!

39 thoughts on “She Did It!

  1. Cheryl says:

    This is terrific news for Annie and the whole family. What a wonderful opportunity. Congrats to her for nailing it and for your work, mama, in preparing her for this challenge.

  2. Jaxbax says:

    So freaking AWESOME!!! Congrats to Annie and great great job to Annie’s momma and daddy!

  3. Erin E. says:

    What an amazing, incredible accomplishment! I wish I had even one artistic bone in my body, but alas, all those genes went to my brother. I’m in constant awe of people who can read words on paper and bring those emotions to life. Congratulations to Annie!

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thanks Erin, I am really excited. Now I need to figure out how to pay for it 🙂

      • Erin E. says:

        Well, if it makes you feel any better, I graduated with about $100k in student loans! Out of state tuition for undergrad and grad school is no joke, but I truly believe it was worth every penny. I could have gone to an in-state school for free, but I never think that would have been the better option for me. As long as Annie makes the most of this opportunity (and I’m sure she will!) it will absolutely be worth the cost. 🙂

  4. Job well done, Maggie. Congratulations to Annie!

  5. Anonymous says:

    CONGRATULATIONS from all of us! YaY!!

  6. MamaPains says:

    Congrats to her! Thats amazing!

  7. Fantastic!! I’m so happy and relieved for you all. You must be very proud!! Yay. Now, hopefully everyone can relax for the rest of the school year? Auditions..yikes. Makes me anxious just thinking about it. Congratulations

  8. Brigitte says:

    Maggie, how exciting and how proud you must be. Annie is beautiful and obviously very talented as well. CONGRATS!!!!

  9. Hurrah! Congratulations to your Annie, so excellent! 🙂

  10. markbialczak says:

    Congratulations, Maggie and Annie. This is the start of an amazing journey for both of you. Maggie, you should be so proud. And way to get out of the way! And Annie, be ready to work hard and soak it all in.

  11. Joe April says:

    I doubt you ‘just got outa her way…’I bet you cried, hugged, held her, yelled at her, laughed at her, laughed with her, drove her to….school, drove her to drink (diet coke)…encouraged her, let her go, held her close,…your heart is as big as your smile. xxoo Pal Joey.

  12. oh2bhuman says:

    Oh what a proud Mama you must be and justifiably so!! Good job! Well done Annie!

  13. Addie says:

    You gave her the freedom and love and support that allowed her to shine. What a brilliant job of parenting.

  14. Addie says:

    Shhhhh…we dont want them to know we were clueless.

  15. Margarita says:

    Yyyaaaayyyy!!!!! WELL DONE!!!! xoxoM

What do YOU think of me?

