You Need to Read This to Read Tomorrow’s Post, Well You Don’t Need to, You Can, It Could Prove Helpful but It’s Ultimately Up to You and Your Blog Reading Habits

I’ve decided to return to Misc. Maggie. I miss you guys. And I really sucked at the Dear Judy blog. In preparation for my first post, I’m providing you with some background information that may prove vital to enjoying aforementioned first post. It could also be completely boring and of no interest to anyone but I have now slyly let you know of my upcoming return to the site that has made me famous in my own mind.

The Edgar Awards

Each spring, Mystery Writers of America present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre (I take it they mean the mystery genre). The Award is named for Edgar Allen Poe, who wrote scary things like “The Telltale Heart”, which was actually more gross than scary. There don’t seem to be many rules for the Edgar awards other than publishers submitting works but be on the approved publisher’s list or qualify to be added to the list. Books must be submitted during the month of publication.  So the submitter doesn’t even know if it’s a hit before submitting it, unless it becomes a best seller super quick.

Nominations are usually announced in the middle of January (on or near Edgar Allan Poe’s birthday) of the following year and the winners are announced at the annual Edgar® Awards Banquet. The winner of the Best Novel wins the “Edgar” but they give out other awards, too.

There are a variety of Edgar awards for fiction, non-fiction and some special awards like:

  • Mary Higgins Clark Award (since 2001) – this must be the award for books that end each chapter with something like “and then a hand reached out of the darkness!” or “she thought she was safe but saw the headlights behind her!”

The National Book Award

Since 1996, independent panels of five writers have chosen the National Book Award Winners in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature.

Now, over a half-century since its inception, the National Book Awards continues to recognize the best of American literature, raising the cultural appreciation of great writing in the country while advancing the careers of both established and emerging writers like Richard Powers, Jonathan Franzen, and Lily Tuck. I think I’ve read a book of Richard Powers’, no idea who Lily Tuck is and Jonathan Franzen was awarded the “Dave Eggers Award for Longest Book that Evolves into a Self-Indulgent Mess of Fabulous Vocabulary”.

Pulitzer Prize in Letters

Every year Columbia University awards the Pulitzer Prize in Letters of $10,000. “Books first published in the United States during 2014. All entries must be made available for purchase by the general public in either hardcover or bound paperback book form. (Just pushing ‘Publish’ doesn’t mean it’s a book).

The Pulitzer Board is made up of a lot of people, some I have heard of , some I haven’t. Go look for yourself.

YALSA’s Alex Award (Young Adult Library Services Organization)

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year’s publishing. The Alex Awards were first given annually beginning in 1998 and became an official ALA award in 2002. I like Alex Award books which says something about me but I’m not sure what. Also, the Chair and Admin of the Alex Award committee are in Portland. Just sayin.

How I spent my holidays other than writing this blog post.

How I spent my holidays other than writing this blog post.

14 thoughts on “You Need to Read This to Read Tomorrow’s Post, Well You Don’t Need to, You Can, It Could Prove Helpful but It’s Ultimately Up to You and Your Blog Reading Habits

  1. Brigitte says:

    Maggie! Happy New Year. If you’re submitting, good luck. You’re a very talented storyteller so keep us posted and we can say we knew you when.

    How’s it going?

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Hello Brig! All is well. I have been sick for weeks but I think I have turned the corner. I’m happy to be back with you lovelies. I’m not submitting anything 🙂

  2. Glad you’re returning! Miss you too!!! And, yes, good luck if you’re submitting! Happy New Year!

  3. Erin E. says:

    So glad you’re back! I think I found today’s post helpful, but I guess it really hinges on what tomorrow’s post is. Nice little cliffhanger you have going here!

  4. granmamimi says:

    Granmamimi says: hope you are feeling better with the same crud that is currently circulating in Jax, Fl.
    Your essay was some what interesting to me but I am way behind on my reading like 8 years worth. Now, I am going to have to start again on new challenges and reading is one on my bucket list from this day forward! Mysteries is not one of mine..that was one of Judy’s dad! I have two boxes filled with cd’s of books to take to the library or give to friends to prove the point. Just looking last night of all my books I have been collecting and trying to find a place in my bedroom for a book case in which to place them. Books are wonderful and magical, thought provoking and painful. I need to stay off Amazon Books..and I do have a Kindel but, nothing takes the place of holding a real book! Well, my ramble is completed! Love you!

  5. Addie says:

    Thanks for saving my seat. I’ve missed you(r posts).

  6. Kathleen says:

    Sorry I am late.

    Thank God you came to your senses and returned. It was really annoying that you stopped this blog and gave all your love to Judy.

    Also, I ‘see’ your weeks of ‘crud’ and raise you . . . I had a stroke on December 12.

    I am not paralyzed (YAY!) but I am not ‘right’. Actually, I feel like I have the flu everyday now, and it never improves. So, it sucks to be me.

    Now I have to catch up blog reading . . . if I can muster the energy. Argh!!

    Love Kathleen ❤ ❤ ❤
    xoxoxo

What do YOU think of me?

