Quick Misc. with Mini Marshmallows

I don’t even like marshmallows except kinda sorta on smores but remember that commercial “Swiss Miss with Mini Marshmallows!” You don’t? Just me? Just me and TV in 1974?

That's me with mini-marshmallows

That’s me with mini-marshmallows

Sheesh, this job is really taking its toll. Now I have work to do which means I don’t have time to blog or play Friends with Words, or work on my event which is coming up on the 15th of February.

Here’s the latest:

1. Really good meeting with my auctioneer pal Kelly Russell (for all your non-profit auction needs). We are going to work on bringing me in on her team as an auction planning consultant. My goal for 2014 is to get my office hours down to 24 a week which allows me to keep my benefits and lets me out of here. My ego is starting to take a hit.  I’m not an egotistical person but when someone comes into the office for a meeting and they are thinking I’m just a 50 year old woman who can answer phones it makes me want to scream. Especially when I’m highly skilled in non-profit fundraising and should be doing it full time!

2. I finished reading my third book of 2014. White Oleander will be listed on my reading page. I love lists.

3. My kids’ school was 2 hours late on Monday due to a BOMB THREAT. What the holy hell is wrong with people? What happened to pulling the fire alarm and running away? (Thanks Mol). This is the third in as many weeks. Two at the junior high, one at the high school. I don’t know if the dickshine who’s harrassing the schools realizes that once s/he decides to make this move, s/he has committed a federal offense and the FBI is going to be looking for his/her ass. Maybe they  should have just gone to history and shut up.

4. I’m cheering for the Denver Broncos for the SuperBowl because the Sherman guy on the Seahawks pulled a dick move and should get benched for at least a quarter of the big game by his asshole coach, Pete Carroll, but he won’t. And I don’t care about the interviews after the game where he was just bizarre. He made a choking gesture to an opposing player and that is poor sportsmanship and if he’s a professional, he needs to act like a professional and not be a douche.

Better luck next year Tommy boy.

Better luck next year Tommy boy.

5. Annie and I are starting a cleanse on Monday which means we drink a lot of smoothies. I’d like to do a fondue cleanse. She’s going to tell me what to do and I’ll do it. Fine.

6. Annie takes her driver’s license test on the 4th! Fingers crossed around the nation that she gets it so I can stop driving my children around. Please, for the mother, let her pass.

I will return to blogging soon. When people stop asking me to work around here.  And no, doing engineering proposals doesn’t help. Rerouting alluvial fans is not exciting to me. Although in the proposal I’m working on there is a project for Willy Dick Creek in Yakima, Washington. Willy. Dick. That’s funny.

Tagged , , , ,

36 thoughts on “Quick Misc. with Mini Marshmallows

  1. Addie says:

    Best reason to have a child with a license? They can do your errands. I never revoked driving rights–I handed over my to do list for a week. Bliss!

    I await your blogging return. I fear we’ve lost Harper and Lisa, and the blogging world is a sadder place for that loss, so, don’t make me any sadder, okay?

    Broncos for the win. It’s the Chinese Year of the Horse!

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Ad, I am so excited to get her a car and send her to the store and to drive her sister to dance, I can’t stand it. So just pray she passes!
      I will blog tomorrow as work proposal has gone out. So annoying.

      Go Broncos!

  2. Willy Dick…lol. You can’t make that shit up.

  3. El Guapo says:

    Nice pic. You always sounded taller on your blog…

    I like toasted marshmallows. No other kind.
    Good luck with the driving test and the cleanse!

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Bomb threats? That is scary and crazy and beyond messed up. What a world our kids face.

    As for the driver’s test–good luck to your daughter! My son will be taking his soon, too. Although the thought of him driving on his own without me is a tad frightening, the freedom it will create is exhilarating!

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Carrie, I’m so with you. Bomb threats and my kids go to high school in the most upper crust town in the state. We’re not upper crust but the town is. It’s insane.

      Fingers crossed on the license because I. am. done. chauffeuring. What the hell, it started with pre-school, I’m tired 🙂

  5. Willy Dick is funny
    Yakima is hilarious!

  6. Jaxbax says:

    My favorite was your dig at Tom Brady. I hate that crybaby!!

  7. The Waiting says:

    I’ll do a fondue cleanse with you. Let’s also exercise by lifting trays of lasagne up and down a couple times.

  8. You’re in very fine form with this post, Mag. I loved #3. I’m sure you’re right and it’s some asshole kid (or kids) doing that. Have fun with the cleanse. Maybe when Annie’s not looking you can spike yours.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thanks Lame. I will keep everyone posted on the bomber, I hope I’m right and nothing actually bad happens.

      I’m not doing the cleanse, I’ll watch Annie do it. The prep work for one of those things is more than I can muster.

  9. […] Audra penned one of her wonderful poems about it (not sure where it is now, but A, it WAS great).  Maggie talks about her professional life in her latest post and what it’s like to be a mature woman in […]

  10. Trent Lewin says:

    The bomb threat thing alarmed me… yikes. You are one busy person, Maggie. But engineering proposals??? Really??? I’m an engineer. I write proposals. Lots of them. Most suck and are unsuccessful, but it’s like nothing else when a big one comes in. Very cool, I did not know that about you. But I don’t blame you for wanting out either…

  11. Erin E. says:

    Ugh, they’re making me work at work too, and it’s just the worst! I want to go back to the time when it wasn’t tax season and everyone wanted me to get their money back from the evil IRS.

    I can sympathize with the bomb threats; my freshman year in high school we had a bomb threat every single day at 1pm for 2 straight weeks. It gets old in a hurry!

What do YOU think of me?

