2013: My Year in Blogging or Try Again Next Year

So, like all of you, I got a little 2013 synopsis from WordPress about my blog activity for the year. I want to thank some of my blogging pals for helping to make 2013 a pretty damn good year for this blog.

Firstly, I want to thank my 2500 followers. I know many of you are members of royal families in Nigeria and are busy managing massive financial and real estate holdings yet you still take the time to read my little blog and for that I am truly grateful.

This is a statistic from WordPress regarding my blog activity this past year.

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 28,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 10 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

WordPress fails to note that the University of Texas Darrell K. Royal Football stadium seats 100,119 people. So that means my blog views for 2013 only fill up 27.9 percent of that stadium. Which means absolutely nothing.

Thank you to my friends and top commenters:

Lazy Laura Maisey

Lame Adventures

DonofAllTrades

Unfettered BS

It has been my true pleasure getting to know all of you, except Don, he owes me money.

And thank you to one of my earliest blogging friends Brigitte at BrigitteBanter.com. Your wonderful blog is one of the top 5 referring sites to my blog! Happy New Year Lady!

And while many of you think my blog is just fluff and nonsense, I now have the proof that you are wrong! Look, just LOOK at the top search terms for this blog for the year:

something fat happened, raylene, naked art, sally jesse raphael glasses, and rob kardashian socks.

This blog is taking on the tough topics, the hard love (Don, seriously, get out of here), the gritty celebrity sock and glasses news and Naked Art. This blog is a cultural extravaganza with “staying power” according to WordPress. My staying power is due to one of my top posts being written in 2012, please revisit the joy and serenity, the laughter and humiliation of My Korean Bathhouse Birthday.

Happy New Year! I’ll be back in 2014! Sorry, but I have nowhere else to go.

Tagged , , ,

16 thoughts on “2013: My Year in Blogging or Try Again Next Year

  1. Brigitte says:

    Maggie, you’ve always been one of my favorite peeps. You make me laugh. You’re straightforward, honest and brave. Thank you for the mention. I hope you and yours have a safe, wonderful and prosperous New Year! Woo-hoo. I’m ready for some 2014, chick. You?

  2. Dear Maggie – it’s such a treat reading this – I laughed all the way through – more more more !

  3. Happy New Year to you! I’m wondering where I find the little synopsis you mention….. 🙂

  4. Happy New Year–love you additions to the synopsis

  5. The Waiting says:

    The post I wrote responding to your Korean bath house adventure gets any insane amount of traffic too. Buncha pervs. Happy New Year, Mags!

  6. Sandra says:

    Larry says you ought to start charging!

  7. healthehelen says:

    Thanks for making me laugh a lot. And I saw the Sydney Opera House a week or so ago. It’s an awesome building. Filling 10 of them would be really cool.

  8. Joe says:

    Love your attitude! I’m out here on the East Coast. My daughter runs the ‘Mellow Mushroom’ pizza in downtown Portland. When the need arises they make a mean pie.

  9. Hahaha, I’m one of your biggest fans so you have to love me! We’ll have to see how that plays out after your boobs disappear though. I’m guessing Big D and I will both be enjoying you at least 3% less in 2014.

  10. first time here and laughing all the way through. Can’t wait to check this Korean bathhouse story.

  11. Well I think your blog is so fucking awesome I had to meet you in real life. You are wonderful. cheers!!!! Happy New Year!!!!

  12. My top search terms are things like George Michael, Highgate, George Michael Highgate, Highgate George Michael, Where Does George Michael Live, and other variations of the above. Which is good. Because apart from one post, I HAVE NEVER MENTIONED GEORGE MICHAEL. Sometimes I wish they just wouldn’t send those reports. The Korean bathhouse story rocked my world when I read it, by the way. Loved it 🙂

What do YOU think of me?

