The Blog Days of Summer 2013

I really got nothin’ I’m having a fantastic summer but that doesn’t really make for fascinating reading. I’m sure you are all dying to know how my golf game is (not great but love it just the same).  I golf as often as I can. Played on the 4th and again yesterday. I shot my best 9 holes to date….52 with 16 putts.
Went to the beach the weekend before the 4th. My blog photo is of a beach path at Gearhart. I have been going to Gearhart since 1967. Someday I hope to retire there. My soul resides in Gearhart. I’m inspired there like nowhere else on earth. It is the place for me. I belong there. I must because I have longed to be there since I was a child. Do you have a place like that? A place that is your heart?
I am up to more than 1500 followers. I always appreciate when people join this little community and not only read what I have written but take the time to leave thoughtful comments.
Look what Ionic Hair Dryer wrote on June 29,

“Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info specifically the remaining part :) I handle such info much. I used to be looking for this particular info for a very lengthy time.

Did you get that? Ionic Hair Dryer “used to be checking continuously this blog” and is “impressed”!!!

I swear not a day later, I heard from My Ceramic Hair Straightener,

“What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and post is in fact fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these articles.”

That’s right! My blog “is in fact fruitful designed”! I have always said that.

Cheap Gaming Headset writes,

“I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare
to see a great blog like this one nowadays.”

I am overwhelmed and flattered by such effusive support and so few people use the word “nowadays”, I feel even more special.

Not all comments are positive. Here’s from Elizabet,

“When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment.

Elizabet had no previous comment but I clicked on her name. She is an interloper from blogspot! And has  a site hawking water bottles with pixies on them. Pixies.

I’ve been trying to figure out where to put my gazing ball. Have you had to deal with the gazing ball issue this summer? A friend of mine gave me a gazing ball that she didn’t want and knowing that I like orange she thought I might want it. I really like other people’s stuff better than my own so I took it but I’m not sure what to do with it.

It kind of looks like an orange bowling ball being poorly hidden for a bowling ball Easter egg hunt.

Gazing ball nesting by our wedding sign.

Gazing ball nesting by our wedding sign.

Gazing ball by a rock near vegetable garden.

Gazing ball by a rock near vegetable garden.

Gazing ball waaayyy back by the palm tree.

Gazing ball waaayyy back by the palm tree.

Gazing ball under front stairs.

Gazing ball under front stairs.

Gazing ball in front bed.

Gazing ball in front bed.

Gazing ball wanted to be closer to the Japanese maple and then decided to stay.

Gazing ball wanted to be closer to the Japanese maple and then decided to stay.

There lies the orange gazing ball.

And last but not least, I got new white jeans from J. Crew and they were half off!

Tagged , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “The Blog Days of Summer 2013

  1. What fun! Can you do a “where’s orange gazing ball thing” every week? Like where’s waldo only better.

  2. Addie says:

    Go the route of the Mrs. Kibbee Watson from my old ‘hood and put the gazing ball in the middle of a birdbath. The birds love it.

    Cool new posters! I’ve got nothing on them.

  3. Judy says:

    Someone smashed my gazing ball so I put it in the recycle bin. So there’s that option.

  4. genext13 says:

    You could do a whole ‘Wilson’ thing from Castaway. Just need a bloody handprint on it.

  5. El Guapo says:

    Wow! No matter where the gazing ball is in the picture, I feel like it’s staring. Right. At me.

  6. Your gazing ball nestled in foliage looks like a giant tomato to me, Maggie. I’m glad you’re enjoying your summer. The heat and humidity have smacked me hard in my a/c-less abode. I have notes and images for a post but I don’t have the energy to write it. I need to sit in my refrigerator and mainline Red Bull.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Sorry Lame. We don’t have a/c either but I’m not in NYC and the humidity. I remember living in my first apartment in Boston, no elevator, 4th floor, no a/c. It’s miserable.

      Good luck in the fridge.

  7. I’m shocked. Your jeans were half off !! Does that men you got just one leg or maybe they came as shorts !!!!!!
    I like the gazing ball having a wander before deciding where to settle. That’s good, being choosy about your spot. But, please someone tell me what a gazing ball is or does? Is it like the Gypsy’s crystal ball? ( No jokes here about clanging as she walks please).
    Hope you and Don are fine now you’re an old married couple Maggie.
    I send Huge Hugs xxxxxxxx

    • Maggie O'C says:

      All of the jeans for half the price!
      I don’t really know what a gazing ball is supposed to do. It’s decor but I think it’s looking rather odd. I’ll keep it on the move till it settles down and perhaps doesn’t look so much like a bowling ball.

      Thanks!
      xoxo

  8. Haha! The orange gazing ball cracks me up! It’s one of those things that I would end up personifying. It looks like it’s up to no good.
    I have wanted to visit Gearhart since I read that it was the Nantucket of the west coast. I might beat you there for retirement. 😉
    How great would that be?
    I love your posts even when you write about golf and gazing balls. You always make me smile.
    Xoxo

  9. I wrote a comment and it disappeared!! I’ll go home and try to reconstruct it. Oy vey!

  10. There must have been a delay. Feel free to delete these last two comments! 😀

  11. E. says:

    My family has a beach house of a teeny tiny island in the Gulf of Mexico. My grandfather visited the island for the first time in 1943 when he was on a Boy Scout camping trip, and I can’t imagine that island not being a part of our family. It’s my soul. The place I crave when life is too busy, too loud, too fast. I understand you perfectly! Also, I love the gazing ball next to your wedding sign.

  12. midwestkite says:

    I vote for gazing ball by a rock near vegetable garden!

  13. It looks like it needs one of those fancy pedestals to raise it up. Then it would look glorious peering out across the yard.

  14. adam says:

    Id have to seek advice from you the following. Which is not one thing I usually carry out! I enjoy looking at a post that will make people consider. Also, thanks for allowing us to opinion!

  15. giulia says:

    You really know your current stuff… Carry on the good function!

What do YOU think of me?

