Where to Start?

I didn’t work Thursday, Friday (my company gives you two days off to get married), got married Saturday, did clean up and wine returns Sunday, took vacation day on Monday and yesterday kept doing that head-bobbing, nap jerk at work because I was absolutely WORN out. I went to bed before 8 and I’m feeling fairly human today. I have my new wedding clogs on because Wonder Dansko pal Kitty from Colgate brought me two pair of wedding clogs.

Here are today’s: weddingclogThis is going to be one discombobulated post.

We began getting the yard in shape on May 4. Here are some before photos:

Deck junk area

Deck junk area

Weedy patio and rusty gross fire pit

Weedy patio and rusty gross fire pit

Over run bank which Derwood will deal with.

Over run bank which Derwood will deal with.

Deren’s family came over and power washed and weeded and did other really nice things for us.  And then Derwood built raised beds for us. Two! In two hours! How amazing is that?

Middle bed all weeded.

Middle bed all weeded.

Cleared for vegetable beds.

Cleared for vegetable beds.

Derwood totally building something.

Derwood totally building something.

Derwood with one raised bed being installed

Derwood with one raised bed being installed

Raised beds!

Raised beds!

Then I got a manicure, the kind that they bake on but I can’t think of what that’s called right now. The girl who did them was named Dian but I’m thinking Dian is not really her name. She was darling and happy and chipper and I didn’t understand anything she said but I nodded and laughed a lot.

And then we got pedicures. Brigid had to take her jeans off and wrap a toga around herself because her damn jeans were so tight she couldn’t roll them up for the pedicure. Skinny jeans should be causing epidemics of yeast infections.

My two girls and bff' Trisha's niece olivia all sitting next to each other texting (each other) because they haven't seen each other in so long.

My two girls and bff’ Trisha’s niece Olivia all sitting next to each other texting (each other) because they haven’t seen each other in so long.

Me having my garden troll feet put through the cheese grater.

Me having my garden troll feet put through the cheese grater.

Just realized. I had a Gel Manicure.

Tagged , ,

30 thoughts on “Where to Start?

  1. Getting married was a lot of work – rest up little one!

  2. That poor woman playing with your foot…

    Hope all is well with married life. Good luck making them babies! I’ll be rooting for you to be pregnant by the fall.

  3. Brilliant post-wedding chitchat. I feel like you’re at my house telling me this over a spot of tea x

  4. unfetteredbs says:

    You should have taken more time off. Texting while in the same room– that’s how I talk to my hubs. Nice work in the yard !

  5. cecilia says:

    congratulations and all that .. wow… I was going to get a pedicure but now i am not so sure.. do those gel thingies stay on! ? should i get them! c

  6. Troll feet! haha! I love the pics. You should be getting a special delivery tomorrow around 10:00 – 10:30 am. Federal Express. I hope you like your gift. I shopped till I dropped and ended up doing something unexpected but easy.
    I’m with LouAnn – you need your rest. Now go to bed!
    Such a mish-mosh of stuff and of course these are my favorite posts.
    Lisa xoxox

  7. Addie says:

    I always know they are talking about my feet when they get the cheese grater out. Love the shoes!! Oh, do get some sleep, we all need the details of the wedding! Photos! Words! Emotions! Feed us!

  8. Addie says:

    Please. Forgot my manners in my emotional outburst.

  9. The bit about skinny jeans and yeast infections killed me.

  10. Andrew says:

    I hate the nap head jerk thing so much! I used to do it in middle of wrestling practice. Coach was so mad.

  11. Your yard is beautiful! Your daughters are beautiful! The husband who builds stuff is beautiful!!! You are a wife.

  12. midwestkite says:

    That video clip was hilarious! I’m trying a “baked on” mani next week for the first time… maybe you can post a nail update to let us know how they hold up.

  13. Maggie, I never realized that weddings could also include yard work. Now I am enlightened. I loved the caption: Derwood totally building something.

    And that video was hilarious!

  14. Anonymous says:

    your feet are gorgeous

What do YOU think of me?

