Whatever “It” Is, Do It!

Last week I read an article that Valerie Harper, Rhoda from my all time favorite show The Mary Tyler Moore Show, has been diagnosed with incurable brain cancer. She could have a seizure and die tomorrow. She could live a few months or a few years, she and her doctor don’t know. They do know that right now there is no cure for this cancer of the membrane surrounding the brain.

Look how pretty Rhoda is! Big brown eyes, I loved her.

Look how pretty Rhoda is! Big brown eyes, I loved her.

Unfortunately, most people sooner associated me with Rhoda's mom.

Unfortunately, most people sooner associated me with Rhoda’s mom.

That news got me to thinking, what would I do? What do you do with a three-months-to-live diagnosis?

Then on Friday, I got this email from my Muffincake pal Kitty:

Ladies
My father was hit by a Baltimore City bus this AM on his way to a dentist appointment. He is in emergency surgery in the shock trauma unit of Univ of MD. He has a broken pelvis, ribs, leg and forehead. His left leg was deskinned. He should be out of surgery in a few hours then into ICU. He will be in the hospital for a few weeks.

Kitty’s dad was a perfectly fit 81-year-old man who played tennis a couple of times a week and was planning to spend a month in Italy with his wife this spring until he was hit by a bus Friday morning. Just walking to a dentist appointment. One step different, one more turn of the head, a different parking space…and life would be different today.

As it is, he has already gone through two surgeries and everyone is praying he is stable enough for another one this week. He has been given more than 15 units of blood. He has broken every bone in his face. There has been internal bleeding. He may lose his leg. He’s in a medically-induced coma which they bring him out of regularly to make sure he is not suffering any neurological damage which thanks be to God, he is not. His three kids are there in the hospital with him. Kitty’s mom, the love of his life and wife of 50+ years, is there with him.

Kitty's Dad and Mom

Kitty’s Dad and Mom

I haven’t seen Kitty’s dad in years but back in college, I went on vacation with her family. I had Easter and Thanksgiving with them. I have seen him at different events through the years. Kitty’s dad is a gentleman. Like the kind of gentleman they don’t make anymore. He is a self-made man. He is mellow, urbane, intelligent, athletic, well-read and well-educated. He has a sharp wit which catches you when you least expect it. He is a measured man who doesn’t, or at least rarely, gets angry…instead he solves the problem. He has always been one of my favorite friend dads. Kitty is her father’s daughter. And she is one of my best friends. This is devastating. Shocking. Traumatic. Baffling. What? How can this be?

So, no one is getting out of here alive. Here are two stories of lives well-lived and now those lives are in jeopardy. What do you think?

It makes me think that you never know when the piano is going to fall out of the sky, so whatever it is you want to do, need to do…what are you waiting for?

My mother died at 68 and I learned then, life is short — don’t delay! Stop making excuses for why you can’t do something, for why something won’t work or why it might work some day. Right now today is the day, the time to tell someone, everyone, anyone that you love them. Tell a friend that they hurt your feelings (thank you Trisha). Apologize, you don’t need to wait a day or two…if you know you’re wrong, just say you’re sorry right now.
You can’t afford to get married? Don’t have a wedding, just get married if that’s what you want. You need to get divorced but continue thinking, “things will get better”. If you know in your gut what you should do, do it.

I wish I had a dog (I have a dog but let’s say someone wishes they had a dog.) Go get a dog! There are thousands of cats and dogs waiting for someone to bring them home and give them a home where they are loved and fed and cared for. Get a dogwalker, get two cats so they will have a pal. Whatever you have to offer is better than living on death row or in a shelter.

petfinder

Lose weight (Maggie, I’m looking at me). Go for a walk. Move. Don’t eat that wheel of brie. You have control over whether you do these things or not.

Read War and Peace (I mean if that’s what you want to do, I can’t help it if you are a masochist). Go to the movies. Make a movie, you have a phone don’t you? Paint a picture, write a song or a poem or a blog, sculpt a sculpture.

Help someone, volunteer, point out the spinach in the stranger’s tooth. Be understanding when you could be angry. Laugh. Surprise yourself. Surprise someone else.

Be who you are, whoever that is. Don’t hide. Live honestly. Tell the truth, then you will never have to remember what you said (Mark Twain, I think).

Get a job. Quit a job. Find what you love to do and try to get paid for it.

Travel, even if it’s just diverting onto a road you have never been on.

Remind yourself that you are never too young (unless by law you are) and you are never too old.

And not least of all things, realize the beauty of the greater world, of the universe, of the heavens. Recognize that all of this is bigger than yourself.

Pray. Please pray for my friend’s Dad. All the skills and all the training of nurses and doctors; and all the drugs and machinery in hospitals are sometimes not enough. Please pray, to who or whatever you pray to, that Kitty’s Dad gets a miracle.

(Kitty’s dad pulled off his own miracle yesterday getting me to Mass at 7:30 in the morning…anything is possible…there is no need to wait).

Tagged , , , ,

302 thoughts on “Whatever “It” Is, Do It!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Kitty’s father is in my prayers. Many thanks for a very moving piece. Carpe Diem.

  2. Omygoodness. Too true!

  3. Hallefrickenluyah. YES; Do whatever it is you need to DO. I’m so crying right now over your friends dad. That is so awful…sending prayers. I had a friend who’s brother was killed that way…out of the blue…best guy in the world. This kind of thinking drives my life…I DID quit, I DO call, I get dogs, divorce people, run, sit, drink coffee, eat cookie dough…my step dad’s parents were killed in a car accident where he and his twin lived…I grew up thinking like this…my uncle died of brain cancer at 48…I have absorbed this way of thinking…its crazy…but I’m definitely sliding into home wet and dirty. SENDING LOVE TO YOU TOO…(MASS…SHEESH…) : ) – AND NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO on Valerie Harper. man. All these lessons in life DO matter.

    Quit the job. Marry the guy. Buy the scarf. Tell that lady about the spinach in her teeth…INDEED. THANK YOU FOR THIS POST MAGGIE.

    love you.

  4. I’ve stood over a number of dead bodies as a police officer, some natural deaths, but most violent and unsuspected. I often wondered what those people planned to do that they never got around to. I don’t hesitate to leave work early to watch my kids do something at school or whatever. Life really is too
    short.

  5. I hope your friends Dad is going to be OK and will cross my fingers for him. 20 months ago I learned my wife had pancreatic cancer and it’s inoperable. We we’re told 6 to 9 months but positivity has helped us a great deal. Two weeks ago while she was having respite
    ( meaning a break from my nagging) in a hospice, we were told to think in terms of weeks not months now.She came home a week ago today (Monday) and was up on the back of a horse on Wednesday despite her stomach looking like she’s due to give birth.
    On Wednesday this week she’ll be there again, as will I watching her bravery in action.
    She’s always positive and refuses to let things stop her. That way we’re hoping to beat the odds again so she can be here for the birth of our grandchild in August.
    Stay Positive !

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Bravo! You and your wife are role models! I love this story and I pray that you enjoy every minute you have. Too often the diagnosis alone kills the patient when one would hope it would simply spur (pun sort of intended) them and their loved ones on to greater things.

      Thank you for this bright light. My best to both of you.

  6. Sandra says:

    My heart is breaking for Kitty and her family. I too, will be praqyong for her Dad. It maskes you sad but moreso, MAD.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      There will be time for anger when he is out of the woods and they find out what the hell happened. There is a video from a streetlight. I’m sure the bus driver is suffering but if TriMet is any indication, those drivers need to settle down! xo

  7. Brigitte says:

    Absolutely beautiful post, Maggie and I so get this now. You’ve expressed it beautifully. Thank you. I will say a prayer for this gentleman. xxoo

  8. unfetteredbs says:

    Sending prayers. A very poignant and timely post Maggie.

  9. The Waiting says:

    Great post, Maggie. I will be saying a prayer for Kitty’s dad.

  10. sharechair says:

    Great post. We all need to appreciate every moment. You just never know.

  11. I have no words, Maggie. This was beautiful. I’ll put Kitty’s dad’s name on the prayer roll at the Mormon temple. Email me his name if you can, or even just his first name.
    He’ll be in my prayers. What you described was a beautiful life – either way, he has good things in store. πŸ™‚
    Life is so short. Your call to get us all up and moving in a positive direction is incredibly stirring. You have such a big noble heart… Thanks for being my friend. oxoxoxo

  12. PS – Kitty’s a lucky girl on all fronts.

  13. A lovely post Maggie, with lots to think about. What courage and kindness you all have… Reading a post like yours reminds me that the world is a caring place …

  14. Andrew says:

    Man… I hope he gets better. That’s awful, but you hit the nail on the head. My problem is I have to stop telling myself to seize the day and actually do it.

  15. Jesse says:

    I’ll be praying!

  16. All my positive thoughts to Kitty’s dad – what a devastating turn of events for her family.

    And I AGREE! JUST DO SOMETHING. I just have and I love it – thank you for this inspiring post! I’m divorcing my dog because he wont’ read “War and Peace” – and getting a cat who likes good Russian lit.

  17. I love your article,lvly!!!

  18. kevinat59 says:

    I hate repeating myself but…

    I already shared this lyric in somebody else’s comment section. “its astounding, life is fleeting.”

    Live for today and plan for the tomorrow which may never come.

  19. quiltnmama says:

    Prayers from Texas for Kitty’s dad.

  20. This brought tears to my eyes, and I really needed to read it. Will pray for your friend’s dad.

  21. segmation says:

    Hi Maggie, I agree with you on life is short and you should make every day count. My prayers are with Kitty’s dad today. Thanks for writing this awesome blog. I look forward to seeing more from you. http://www.segmation.wordpress.com

  22. o6iez says:

    Reblogged this on Thoughts Ξ΅Ρ—Π· and commented:
    i keep telling myself this but i hardly follow through. what will it take for me to just do it? so i will get started and do something about my career now.

    here’s to no regrets!

  23. Jorie says:

    What a lovely piece, and your friend’s dad sounds like a perfect gentleman indeed, as a member of the Greatest Generation. It makes me so sad to think of that generation getting older and dying because we have so much to learn from them still. I will be thinking of Kitty’s dad and sending thoughts for a swift recovery.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thank you for all your kind words. My dad was a Greatest Generation guy. I miss him. I miss the stories of a life we’ll never know. But I still have the stories.

  24. therapink says:

    Thank you for sharing such deep emotions. Sometimes the answer to how to proceed with anything is simply “do it”.

  25. Doing it is the hardest part of doing anything:)

  26. “We are all dying”,” no one gets out of this alive”. Live your life each and every day, you never know when your number is up, and no matter what when that time comes, it is always to soon. Thank you for sharing Angelia @ http://dixielandcountry.com

    • Maggie O'C says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed my post. The earlier anyone realizes the truths of this life, the better time they will have while they are here. It took me a long time but I think I’m on the right track!

  27. Sending prayers…thank you for this post today. I’m getting married for the first time at 40 this weekend, and I’m starting to get nervous. However, your post reminded me that it’s not the wedding or reception, but every other day of our lives, that truly matters.

    Also, as another animal lover, thanks for giving a shout out to Petfinder, one of the best tools on the net. Congrats on being freshly pressed!

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Congratulations! Have a great GREAT time!!! Yes, remember it’s not the wedding, it’s the marriage. Bravo!
      I’m heading down the aisle for the 2nd time in May. And I couldn’t be happier.

      Love me some Petfinder.

      Have such a great weekend and congratulations Melissa!!! I’ll go check out your blog to see what you have planned.

  28. peachyteachy says:

    Thank you for perspective today. Thoughts and prayers surrounding your friend’s father. Practicing gratitude.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thank you. “Practicing gratitude”. Those are powerful words. Gratitude takes practice doesn’t it? To truly be grateful in your soul, takes practice. Not just a “thanks”.

  29. Anne Chia says:

    Thank you for sharing. Praying for a quick recovery for Kitty’s dad. He will be fine. They will be fine

  30. Soul Walker says:

    I have lost a lot of friend’s and loved ones. In light of this I have to echo what you have said here. You are right; life is short. Remember what Col. Potter said to Radar, “If you ain’t where you are, you ain’t nowhere.” I agree that you should think twice about waiting for things and I also encourage people to remember to live where “they are,” and not somewhere they are not.

  31. I will certainly be praying for Kitty’s Dad but also, I will be praying that I have the courage to do all the things you have described! Thanks for such an inspiring post.

  32. Wishing miracles upon miracles to Kitty’s dad …

  33. k.m.f. says:

    I remember when my grandmother, a perfectly healthy 93 year old living on her own in her little apartment, slid off the corner edge of her bed where (we hilariously like to remember) she was counting her money and broke her hip….she was basically done and the long slip began. I’m praying for Kitty’s dad to pull through and have many more good years.
    Thanks for the reminder…
    Oh and when people want a dog, I like to push Project POOCH….where I got my little guy who basically saves my ‘life’ every other day….good one

  34. my prayers for kitty’s dad…wish him a speedy recovery…

  35. The People says:

    It;s hard to be happy when there is trajedy all around us! I hope the best for everyone especially our children!

    TopInquiry.net

  36. lulabell88 says:

    Beautiful post, hope everything works out well!

  37. Angie K Walker says:

    I used to love watching Life with Rhoda…

  38. Praying that Kitty’s Dad recovers fully, and that God’s grace is experienced by all who are connected to Kitty.

  39. Hope all goes well! Interesting to think about what you would do with only three months.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Right?! The post originally was going to be about what you could do or would do in 3 months and then I got Kitty’s email and my thoughts went in a different direction.

      Thanks for reading.

  40. A lovely write, and a lovely message. Kitty’s father and her family are in my prayers as well. *hugs* =)

  41. marymtf says:

    A positive piece created out of out of two negative situations. Well done. When you read our responses, you must realise that it’s touched us all.

  42. El Guapo says:

    Enjoy every moment.
    And get rid of the ones you can’t.

    Putting out prayers for the gentleman…

  43. helena mallett says:

    Lovely blog and sending very best wishes from UK.

  44. jeshanb says:

    Nice post. Am Praying! πŸ™‚

  45. MrsCrys729 says:

    Awesome post!

  46. Tell the truth, something we don’t do enough of, especially to ourselves! Great post πŸ™‚

  47. A powerful post on themes very close to my heart.
    Kitty’s family sound like one that will hold strong and support each other through crisis.
    Sending good thoughts.

  48. Divine Cartomancy says:

    This is a wonderful post, We had a Death in our family today. For the past month something has been screaming at us to call this relative and we continued to put it off. Don’t delay communication because you never know when it may be the last time that you have see them or hear them alive.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      I’m really sorry. I agree wholeheartedly. What are you doing that is so important right now?! Go do whatever it is your heart, your sixth sense, whatever it is, is telling you to do.

  49. elenamusic says:

    I learned this when my mom died of cancer at 50 and I was 14. Life is short and there are no rules to life, so do what you need to do to be happy. I don’t want to regret not trying something just because everyone else didn’t.

  50. I would love you to contribute to my list I am compiling on organising on my blog http://www.ireadthat.net. Have a look and see what you think. David

  51. eacoyle says:

    Such a great post with a great message. Sending good thoughts to your friend’s father! I hope you can continue to live in the moment and seize the day.

  52. The Poet Niche says:

    This is such an inspirational post. and although some are hard (like losing weight), i guess we’ll never know until we try. Thanks and i truly hope your friend’s dad gets well soon. stay strong

  53. Stormy says:

    Awesome post and a well-timed message. Thanks and I’ll keep your friend’s dad in my prayers…

  54. cookiecharm says:

    I am sure like many others…I NEEDED THIS! Thanks! I am new to blogging and have really enjoyed reading your posts. I am currently following you (I think)…I am new to wordpress πŸ™‚
    http://www.charmingsouth.wordpress.com

  55. lolly0 says:

    Thank you SO much for posting this! I will also pray for your friend’s father πŸ™‚

  56. jimceastman says:

    This is definitely an ideal post and beautifully written. Your post truly has a heartwarming message. We should never stop believing even we think there’s no hope at all. God is good and Life is miraculously wonderful! I wish your friend’s dad a best luck for his recovery. Congratulations being in FP.

  57. bernasvibe says:

    Awesome uplifting and inspiring write..2 thumbs UP..You’re spot ON that none of us knows if tomorrow will come for us here on Earth..Live/LOVE/Laugh today. Every morning I wake the first thing I do is thank God for giving me one more day with my loved ones & friends. It is not a given; it is a blessing.

  58. Wow, your words sure resonate today. I was touched and freaked out about Valerie Harper’s diagnosis when I first heard it. Rhoda was always my favorite and I loved her running to her wedding in her sneakers with her veil a flying. Valerie’s response was so inspiring. She still is focused on her life vs. her passing on.

    Thoughts and prayers for your friend, Kitty’s dad.

    I too had a life changing accident. One day I was bike riding and then I woke up briefly in the ambulance. No one knows what happened, not even me. I was found in the road unconscious and my bike on the opposite side. It gave meaning to ” they didn’t know what hit them”. The accident knocked me right out of my corporate career and into life. I’m really hoping for the blessing for Kitty and her dad, come what may.

    Thanks for sharing, I look forward to reading more.

  59. I couldn’t agree more. You only live once and sometimes even that is cut short. If you want something go out and get it/do it. It’s just a matter of the mind and not being lazy about it.

  60. I’m praying for Kitty’s dad! I’m sure he’ll come out of this. It was pleasure reading your blog. I loved it! Thank you so much, Maggie!

  61. Kaberi Chand says:

    Completely agree with you!
    The right time for anything and everything is-NOW.
    I will be praying for Kitty’s Dad .God Bless.

  62. I’m praying for Kitty’s dad Maggie, and for all of us xx annie

  63. emekatalks says:

    great piece! thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  64. Lovely, connecting with life for what it is and inspiring. Thank you. My response to the prompt: ‘What do YOU think of me?’: I think you “don’t hide”, and you “live honestly”.

  65. symatt30 says:

    Reblogged this on symatthews30 and commented:
    Wish M would read this…:-)

  66. symatt30 says:

    AAmazing! Thank-you. I need someone special to read this!:-) God bless.

  67. Susanscribes says:

    I love MTM and Rhoda! Really good post! Praying for your friend’s Dad.

  68. heathmak says:

    Thank you for reminding us how precious and short life can be for any of us.
    Praying for your Kitty’s father to recover and strength for the entire family during this difficult time.

  69. This has left me groping for words.. something which doesnt happen often with me! Motivating, inspiring and urging the reader to do whatever has to be done without wasting further time! Thanks for the post… maybe its going to change (lazy) me for the better!

  70. mehtaworld says:

    I pray for Kitty’s Dad…. Certainly agree that life is so unpredictable. Sometimes you just cannot afford to wait because you don’t even know if you’d get time to wait.

    Although, at times, you have to wait because if you don’t die, you have to live with something you would have better done after giving some second or third time thought process πŸ˜‰

    Very nice blog though…. loved it!!

  71. […] Whatever “It” Is, Do It!. […]

  72. rmedina49 says:

    Good luck..warmest wishes and I hope everything turns out well!

  73. thank you for sharing this amazing story and better yet this push up to get moving and doing! I have that on mind every day and feel reinforced every time I read and hear about it some where else. I’m not alone.

  74. I’m so blown away by this post, Maggie! I think I needed to read this today. Congrats on the Freshly Pressed. I can see why this is FP’d. We all need to hear this and live it. Prayers to Kitty’s dad. I hope you gets that miracle.

  75. Joshtyn Ann says:

    came on to your blog by coincidence… by wow, really good read. it’s good to be reminded every once and again about the shortness of life. Sometimes we get caught up by the drama in life and forget what’s important….thanks for the reminder. I hope your friends dad makes it through this tough time

  76. I could hardly breathe after reading this post – for many reasons, knowing Valerie Harper is so ill, your mother dying so young, and your friend’s father getting hit and needing everyone’s well-wishes but also because in a fit of total selfishness last night, I prayed that I would win the lottery. Then I read this. I cringed. I gagged. I wanted to take back my awful prayer. I felt like such a jerk, especially knowing what prayer is supposed to be all about. So, God, if you are listening, please ignore my stupid request and instead help Kitty’s dad. Please.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Oh EOS! Don’t be too hard on yourself. πŸ™‚ If you win the lottery can I have some?

      And thank you for the redirected prayers. He had another pulmonary embolism last night and a lung collapsed. I honestly pray that she can at least talk to him. But he’s still in a coma. 😦

  77. Thinking of kitty’s dad during is difficult time. What a blog post…

  78. A lovely, inspirational post. It was precisely this same ‘do it’ attitude that made me write my first blog post today about almost exactly the same topic of making the most of the moment. Thank you for sharing your story.

  79. Thank you for posting this. Life IS short. And it’s meant to be beautiful. Thank you for the reminder!

    It reminds me of the post I just posted called cheetah-printed life. let’s live life big. it’s worth it.

  80. Lesley says:

    Lovely post. I particularly liked this, “Travel, even if it’s just diverting onto a road you have never been on.” Definitely a new way to look at things.

    I really hope your friend’s dad pulls through. What an awful situation. 😦

  81. Keeping your friend’s father in my thoughts and prayers. Loved the post. Quite an inspiration. Tomorrow is not promised.

  82. cariwiese says:

    The sad part is, I liked War and Peace…

  83. joeyjoank says:

    One of the best blogs I have read in a while. Thank you for the smile and reminder that life is a gift and I should live it. Your friend and her father have my best thoughts, vibes and prayers.

  84. sinecostan says:

    Very inspiring. Whatever it is, don’t put it off until tomorrow. There is no tomorrow.

  85. clientsi says:

    Tyler Durden from Fight Club said, “On a long enough timeline the survival rate for everyone drops to zero.” I dealt with the greatest depression and loss of my life over the last year, and am finding that the only way out of it is to keep “doing.” From living my dreams of being a traveling adventurer to writing every day to losing fifty pounds, I’ve had to keep up the “doing” just as you describe it here. The more you do it, the easier it is to do more, and you find that you are more capable of using the time you have left than you thought possible.

    Thank you for sharing this story and you insight. It’s definitely time to get things done. Time is running out!

    Sean

  86. jengreene23 says:

    I’m new to blogging and I clicked onto your post. I am a firm believe that all things happen for a reason. I was meant to read your beautifully written post. Thank you for the reminder that what we want to achieve we need to go for it. Do it.

  87. Great inspirational post! Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! My prayers go out to Kitty’s dad.

  88. Loca Gringa says:

    I hope this piece is a catalyst for many. Great inspiration and well done!

  89. sarahsiders says:

    How is Kitty’s Pop? It’s so true that we can just lose life or mobility or whatever that fast. And it totally sucks that it takes someone else’s loss – or our own – to find out we should’ve valued things differently. I’m right here on the edge of fear and faith and I want to leap but I’ve agreed with fear for so long. It’s hard to change. That’s it though – it’s just hard, but not impossible. Thanks for the motivation. I will be back.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thank you for this comment.
      Kitty’s dad isn’t good. Still in a coma, two pulmonary embolisms so far, not good.

      Take the leap! It is scary but well worth it. I lived in fear and insecurity for too long, it feels good to just be me.

  90. I’m just learning to “take the leap” Thank you for your post. I’m trying to learn not to be anxious and nervous and to live life outloud as they say! Prayers for Kitty’s dad and her whole family in this terrible time.

  91. […] Whatever “It” Is, Do It! — Maggie O’C, Someone Fat Happened […]

  92. Bella says:

    Thank you for reminding me that life is precious, short and MUST BE LIVED IN THE ‘NOW’. I frequently get bogged down with the weight of so much stuff, that I lose sight of the good that is out there.
    I’m sorry to hear about Valerie Harper; I grew up on Rhoda too. I’m delighted that your friend’s father has pulled through!

  93. Great Post!!!

    Unfortunately, it typically takes a traumatic life event similar to Kitty or Valarie Harper’s to demand perspective in our lives. When I was 13 my dad had a massed heart attack and passed away instantly. A rainy day was nothing to complain about after I was negated the opportunity to say good bye to my father before his time was up. PERSPECTIVE!

    Post like this one should be shared by all. Great job.
    Cherish Every Day.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      I am so sorry for such a terrible loss at such a young age. That’s awful. I am trying to teach my kids about perspective and compassion although it does take a big event to really make it stick.

  94. Your post brought me to tears. Not only does your style of writing resonate with me but your reflections on life ring true for me! Losing my father when he was only 48 and my brother at 36, I have also been inspired to LIVE my life, to experience what they could not.

    I will say a prayer for your friend’s father. God bless him.
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts about life.

  95. Reblogged this on mishunderstood and commented:
    Thoughtful, reflective, meaningful…..

  96. mrsmyagi says:

    Hope kitty’s dad is in the mend, he sounds like a lovely man. Had my own wake up call when my dad died 18 months ago, hence my blog. Life is short, seize it

    • Maggie O'C says:

      I am so sorry about the loss of your dad but I love that he went on his last motorcycle ride. I think the diagnosis killed my mother and she just gave up, which needless to say was maddening and saddening.

      Kitty’s dad is in surgery again today, not much good news.

      Thank you for reading! And your baby is adorbs!!! Those cheeks!

  97. Thank you for this. I am a new blogger and an Intern not happy with her job. I know we often take this life for granted until a tragedy or someone’s tragedy slaps us into the realization that life is indeed too short. For this, I made a note for myself to remember that life is indeed short by writing down my thoughts right after I read this and save the feelings for later reading so I dont relax into wasting my life when the feeling induced by your blog eventually wears off as is a problem with most humans.

    I hope Kitty’s Dad makes through this and thank you once again.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thank you for such a thoughtful comment. Welcome to blogging, this is a great, funny and supportive community. Just keep slogging through and hopefully find what you love to do and get someone to pay you for it and in the mean time look for the little tiny joys in life, spring is coming!

  98. Chelle says:

    Wow. Kitty’s dad is in my prayers and thoughts. I loved this post, though. It’s easy to forget how short life is, with all the things that we need to do, take care of, and get done everyday. I’ve almost lost my dad a few times to heart problems, so I know how eye-opening something like this can be. Great post.

  99. Katherine says:

    What an inspiring post. My thoughts and prayers go out to your friends father, but I am glad you chose to share your story here.
    You have found a very positive drive from tragedy and made the choice to share it with others, hopefully inspiring them to do the things they long to do in their lives.
    Time flies by so quickly, and things happen so fast. It is important that we consider this and ask ourselves. “If not now, When?”

    Thank you for sharing and congrats on being freshly pressed.

  100. circlekaye says:

    Thank you for writing this! I’m so glad I came across this, right at a time when I’ve been struggling lately about my own choices, pursuing something I don’t want to pursue and leaving behind my passion because of the pressure from people around me. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction.

  101. Thank you – Awesome post and spot on the money!

    My Father died at 62 and my Mom at 75, but without him she was just a shell of the woman she had always been. Before he died they had been “waiting” to slow down and enjoy life; after he died it seemed she was just waiting to join him.

    I decided it was time take the leap and just do “it” a little over a year ago. My sons are both married and on their own and it was time for me to nurture my gypsy soul. So my husband and I packed up our CT lives and put it all in storage. Now we are living a nomadic lifestyle traveling the US, exploring and experiencing more than I ever thought possible. It was the best thing we’ve ever done.

    I hope things improve for your friend’s father. I’m sending prayers and positive energy your way.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thank you for your good thoughts, they are definitely needed. I’m sorry for the loss of your parents but that means I know you know πŸ™‚ And love the gypsy nomad adventures! Good for you!

  102. godtisx says:

    I’ve been thinking alot of Valerie Harper as well, it really brings mortality to your doorstep. She was going to be interviewed by Pierce Morgan, missed it. I’ll have to YT it. I’m going to pray for her, and Kitty’s dad. There are alot of things I want to do, but I am really poor, struggling with a barely there business – aged out of the workforce. I’m inching toward those things, but you know this post is so powerful. It’s a real message, we are not promised tomorrow and we’re not promised other people’s tomorrows. Thank-you for this post (I have some hard thinking to do).

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Good luck to you and I hear what you are saying. That’s why I think finding our joy can be tiny things, like walking on a new street, watching a bird. Life isn’t a fantasy land but we can store up little tiny joys in our soul that can hopefully provide us with the nourishment we need.

      Bless you.

      • godtisx says:

        “We can store up little tiny joys in our soul that can hopefully provide us with the nourishment we need.”

        I love that.

        Yes. You’re right (hmm). Yeah.

        Bless you too!

  103. Wonderful, moving piece that brought tears to my eyes!

  104. Reblogged this on gibberishmock and commented:
    Remind yourself that you are never too young (unless by law you are) and you are never too old.

  105. This is a wonderful post Maggie! I am praying for Kitty’s dad.

  106. fitchick007 says:

    Well said and so true! We often spend too much time worrying and stressing. We need to live in the moment and enjoy every second of it. I wish your friend’s dad a full recovery and he will definitely be in my prayers.

  107. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed and thanks for this moving post.

    I had my own reminder that life is short when my mother unexpectedly became ill last year with a serious illness. It progressed so quickly from her feeling perfectly healthy at the end of 2011, to her life hanging in the balance by the end of 2012. Thankfully, major surgery saved her life.

    As her caregiver, among all the worry and fear that I would lose my mother, it was a stark reminder that we have got to do the things we want to do, because one day we might not be able (or be here) to do them.

    I’m thinking of your friend’s father. Prayers. ❀

  108. ADdaddy says:

    Touching stories all around Maggie. happy landing to Kitty’s dad. But what does it takes to be so positive, cheerful and smiling all the way to the end, that woman is awsome, thumbs up to her.

  109. bee love says:

    I don’t know that people will ever really understand that LIFE IS NOT guaranteed. I am not sure what awaits us, but I am a cancer survivor, have had reoccurring cancer, and lost both my parents while in my 30’s. I took care of my sister daily the last year of her life, and have lost too many friends in their 50’s, and have been to more older teens funerals due to drug over doses than i care to count.

    Life is filled with the good, the bad and the ugly. Try doing a random act of kindness TODAY. Tell the people in your life NOW what they mean to you and why you love them. They won’t hear the words when they are dead.

    NO ONE has a guarantee to wake up tomorrow. I experienced a near death experience 14 months ago, and it was peaceful and beautiful, and I wanted so to take the hand of my sister as she told me to just walk with her. GOD, instead woke me up from a 15 hours coma. They found during tests that my right kidney was engulfed in a cancerous mass.

    At first I thought this must mean there are still things yet bigger for me to accomplish. But, i also consider the fact that he gave me extra time to say goodbye to friends and family. And, for that, I am blessed. I am glad that night my family did not have to go through the experience of me dying. But, we all do one day. Live in the present moment. Be Kind. Be Honest, Take care of your self physically, mentally, spiritually and emotionally. Pray. meditate. Enjoy the gift of life, as it is a gift, and I believe we all have the ability to make a conscience choice about the quality of our life TODAY.

    Grief and grieving are the hardest things to do. But, the blessing is in knowing the people we have loved KNOW it. Not everyone wants to know if they are dying, and many choose to take their death days without revealing it “to loved ones”. I understand this choice. It may not be the choice for everyone, but I certainly understand why. Don’t take that personally.

    Your post was awesome, and prayers are with your friend and the dad, and all the members of his family that are not ready to lose him. We never are prepared for death of a loved one.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      It sounds like you have a post to write. I will go check out your blog. I am sorry for your losses but glad you are still here.
      Be honest. Be kind.
      It shouldn’t be that difficult.
      Best.

      • bee love says:

        Thanks Maggie, I have enjoyed reading your posts, so thanks for the visit. Am a relative newbie to blog world. But, have no loss for things to write about. Life has been full, filled with blessings. And, like they say..what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

  110. wordsengineer says:

    very touchy story,,god will cover up early..

  111. gagan2412 says:

    Awesome.. Need to remind mysrlf this all the time… Thanks for putting it sooo beautifully…

  112. atology says:

    Very touching and very motivating. I used to think that waiting for the right time was a good idea. But then again, it may never come at all. It could be “NOW” is the best time to do it, whatever it is.
    As a physician, I often get bored. 40 to 50 patients per day with the same ol common illnesses. I needed to get something else. Life ain’t about doing the same thing everyday. There’s more you can do aside from your routine things.
    Wake up! and go get ’em!

  113. reocochran says:

    I like the way you write almost as a stream of consciousness! You are definitely funny and witty. I am here to congratulate you on being Freshly Pressed. That is how I came to follow your words.

  114. salilr says:

    A very very well-written post.

  115. Mentil Mind says:

    Wow, this is a very thought provoking post. I feel no pity for you but envy that if you had that amount of time, you would see the world from a completely different and better point of view.

  116. What a good reminder! Thank you for sharing. Thoughts and prayers…

  117. prayer sent πŸ™‚

  118. […] is very cool to be Freshly Pressed. It is even cooler to have a post that is meaningful to me be Freshly Pressed. I am so flattered and happy and grateful that the WordPress FP Wizards selected my post on my […]

  119. lisa92859 says:

    Congratulations on being FP. Your clear, urgent and visceral concern for Kitty’s Dad is touching. Whoa, Kitty is fortunate to have your friendship. Isn’t it so wonderful when “chosen family” connects you with others…and their parents. Will pray for skill and knowledge of caregivers…and hope that Kitty’s Dad has plenty more good years ahead. Sounds like a fantastic guy. Compassion is such a vital attribute. Thanks for sharing. Keep writing!

  120. reikipixie says:

    blimey, this sums up exactly what hubby and I have been thinking and thats why we decided recently to do something mad and completely out of our comfort zone!! we are selling everything off to cycle the world for charity on a tandem tricycle – Carpe Diem indeed!!!! thoughts go to Kitty’s dad and hope that he comes through πŸ™‚ one second can change so much.

  121. Reblogged this on gautammandla96 and commented:
    “It” doesn’t matter, doing it does!

  122. one of the best posts I have read lately–sorry it was inspired by something sad and shocking–I will do a little praying too — though I have found this a few days after you posted it

  123. evealexandra says:

    Thank you for igniting this blaze of faith for living life to the fullest and sharing that to others reading. Injury and disease are never ideal events though your message that you’ve drawn out is an inspiration to all. πŸ™‚

  124. moontoefairy says:

    I’m recovering from cancer. I can tell you that there is nothing like having a life threatening disease to light a fire in the belly to get on with it and do it. Thank you for sharing this blog with me and others. i hope that they too will just get on with it. Life is truly the blink of the eye and then it’s over. You don’t have all the time in the world. You only have now.

    • shanesbookblog says:

      Moontoefairy i Hope you get better! I Will be praying for you and i will do my best to raise cancer awareness in my state and neighborhood that is a promise!

    • Maggie O'C says:

      I’m so glad you are in recovery and so happy that it has had a positive effect on your outlook. You are an inspiration! Thank you for being here.

  125. shanesbookblog says:

    This post really makes you think about what your doing in life because tomorrow is never guaranteed or promised to you. Makes me want to be more careful and enjoy what time i have on this planet instead of complaining about petty things and being frustrated that such and such is not doing well for me or whatever…the people who aren’t with us anymore deserve better and i need to act more inclined to being worthy of the time i actually have here! Great Blog! My aunt died of Lung cancer in 2004 , i wish people would become more active in promoting cancer awareness and fund raising so we can hurry up already and try and solve this medical mystery and find a cure….if we don’t it’s just going to take more and more people until we are all gone.

    To anyone who has cancer my prayers are with you…i cant imagine what you are going through and how strong you must be to continue living your life but i just wanted to say i hope you beat it and i hope life keeps on giving you more and more time,people are precious and we need to understand that better now days instead of taking everything for granted and walking the earth in zombie like daily routines that we hate. ~Shane

  126. jlwynder78 says:

    Praying for your friends Dad! I hope he is now doing better. http://roadto3day13.wordpress.com/

  127. […] 11. Someone Fat Happened […]

  128. I really enjoy this article, I do agree that one must do the things that one wants to do because today may be your last day to do it. I have nominated you for a Liebster award if you choose to accept it here is the link. http://nuriandnerdpower.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/this-liebster-award/

  129. Lynn Dirk says:

    I keep wondering how Katy’s dad is doing? He and Katy and everyone involved are in my prayers. I hope you’ll update us soon. And I think you rocked this blog post.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thank you! Last I heard, he was not strong enough for the skin graft operation he needs and has geriatric ICU psychosis. Prayers are still needed. Thank you for reading!

  130. Said a prayer for your friend’s father. Hoping things improve soon.

    M.

  131. cmartzloff says:

    Thank you for the article….perspective is everything!

  132. lyndzeerae27 says:

    Great post Maggie, very thought provoking and truthful. Your friends Dad will be in my thoughts today.

  133. preppysara says:

    This really made me think! So inspirational and great advice. Thanks for posting!

  134. typicalraine says:

    This is so inspirational!
    It makes me want to get to my feet and start doing things that I haven’t done before. Thanks for sharing these things with us. πŸ™‚

  135. shreya says:

    maggie u r sooo freaking awesome!!!! this is absolute.. actually its very very good!!!!

  136. jeannaraja says:

    Reblogged this on I See You and commented:
    live!

  137. jeannaraja says:

    great blog:). Inspires :). Keep it up!

  138. […] have been Freshly Pressed a couple of times and written a couple of controversial posts. Those blogs got a ton of comments. I […]

What do YOU think of me?

