Why???

Why??!!!!

Why can’t I think of anything to write about?

I can’t seem to summon the energy to type anything and whenever I start something, I think “That’s stupid. You are a dullard and no one would ever want to read this drivel.” This is what contentment hath wrought. Goddam contentment. I am far more entertaining when angst is involved.

The auction went very well. As far as I can tell sales were up around $10,000 from last year’s event. There were some entertaining drunk people there. The kind of drunks who really care, who get up after $20,000 has been raised, steal the microphone to slur “thank you” and other very deep, meaningful thoughts and observations on society and the role of culture and charity and volunteerism. Words only they can follow and then they start crying. I love those guys. I was not one of them so I can’t write about any asshattery on my own part.

There was a major screw up wherein guests were charged four times their actual bill. I was charged $140 instead of the $35 for the one silent auction item I bought (10 movie passes to the Northwest Film Center and Eleni’s restaurant). I heard about this issue on Tuesday morning and freaked out that somehow it was my fault. There was absolutely no reason or evidence that I had anything to do with the snafu but I broke a sweat anyway. It had nothing to do with me and has since been resolved. Nothing to write about there.

My bestie Trish had pneumonia! But I’m fine.

I’m watching “House of Cards” on Netflix. Anyone else watching this? Initially I didn’t really like it because it appeared that none of the characters have any redeeming qualities. They all appeared to be power-hungry, self-absorbed, megalomaniacs. I like it now that I realize in the previous characterization I was being charitable. As my father used to say, I could watch Kevin Spacey read the phone book and be happy. Except my Dad would say it about Charles Durning or Brian Dennehy. Robin Wright stars as Kevin’s wife. She is really good at being really evil.

Robin Wright as Princess Buttercup in the Princess Bride.

Robin Wright as Princess Buttercup in the Princess Bride.

Princess Buttercup after being married to Sean Penn.

Princess Buttercup after being married to Sean Penn.

Don’t you love Netflix? I do. I recently finished watching all 8 seasons of “Wings”. Now I’m watching “Quincy, M.E.” There’s a ton of good stuff on Netflix for those of us who have tired of reality TV and reality in general. I haven’t really followed the news since November and it’s not bad to live in my own little world.

Wedding is set for May 18. I have reserved the hotel room for our wedding night at the Hotel de Luxe. I have a general idea of what kind of dress I want. Pictures are shown below. I will have to lose the weight and at least 20 years to pull it off.

weddingdress1 weddingdress2

I have weigh in tonight. I should hold steady or lose an ounce. Hopefully not gain.

boring

Here’s a story from my youth:

One day after school when I was in high school, I was in very high spirits. It was spring and I was feeling very hyper and jolly. Let’s say it was around 1981-82.  I was teasing my mom who, as usual, was busy trying to keep her four children organized and fed and clothed and where they needed to be when they needed to be there. I was chewing a piece of BubbleYum bubblegum. I got all hyped up and took the gum out of my mouth and stuck it in my mother’s hair. She stopped and looked at me and said, “What did you just do?” I put my gum in your hair, I said and then started laughing uproariously.  My poor mother. She just looked at me like I was insane and then we had to get out the peanut butter to ease the gum out of her hair. I also think scissors were involved.

Really, I got nothin’.

Tagged , , , ,

49 thoughts on “Why???

  1. Margarita says:

    I like that top dress, Maggie. Mostly because I like that pretend off-the-shoulder neckline. We’ve been watching House of Cards, and I’m totally fascinated, and repulsed, by the self-serving, manipulating, chicanery of the characters. Reality TV at its finest! xoxoM

    • Maggie O'C says:

      margarita, we have very good taste. That dress is $4,000 Oscar de la Renta…but it is the general idea 🙂 House of Cards is addictive. I’d like to believe that Washington isn’t really like that but I fear it probably is.

      • Margarita says:

        Maggie, of course we have good taste: we hang together. But Oscar can join our little group! I think Washington is, actually, even worse, full of individuals who buy into their own PR. It’s good to pay attention! xoxoM

  2. El Guapo says:

    Ah, bubblegum in the hair.
    I remember it well.
    Yeah, mine involved scissors too.

  3. twindaddy says:

    My mom is a very gentle sould, but I have a feeling had a done that I would’ve seen a side of her I’ve never seen before.

  4. Have you watched Community yet on Netflix?
    May is a good month to get married–I was married on May 21, 1982.
    Your poor mom–if one of my kids had done that I am not sure they would have lived to tell the tale–and I am usually a pretty nice mom.

  5. Dig the dresses in a major way! Wings, huh? The chick with all the hair, I was so jealous of her hair. I could never get my hair to do that. Maybe some gum would have done the trick?

  6. Why is your nothing always better than my something?
    I hope the weigh in went well. I’m sure it did. Cute dresses.
    The peanut butter story, sounds like you but a little more nutty. Hardy har!
    See, I’ve got plenty of nothing in the form of lame comments.

  7. OMG. WE ARE SUCH TWINS. I was completely obsessed with House of Cards and watched it from beginning to end whenever I could turn on Netflix. I also didn’t like it at first. I also LOVE Kevin Spacey and even stalked down a guy on Facebook that I dated (slept with) for a while because I always thought he looked like him. I ended up loving the series. Did you know there is an english version??? Its on Netflix too and the US version is almost VERBATIM. weird. LIke the narrating to the camera and everything…the characters..all of it. AND I LOVED THE OFFICE OF SLUGLINE. my dream job.

    Love the dresses.

    and duh CONGRATULATIONS!! sheesh. And I’ve thought this too, unless I’m mad or in some kind of trauma, I feel boring. But right now I WELCOME it. No trauma here. Just living. That’s fine.

    Happy weigh ins!!!!

  8. unfetteredbs says:

    your nothing is something 🙂 have you watched the BBC version of House of Cards? It is based on the Parliment– I loved it. I am considering the House of Cards on Netflix because I loved the BBC version — I like Kevin Spacey.

  9. We’re watching Quincy on Netflix right now too! I have had a hard time writing as well – everything seems trite or UN-amusing and I wonder how I’ve blown thru all my stories already – or have they receded into my brain waiting to come out at odd times when I’m away from pen/paper… it must be the asteroids in the universe

  10. I LOVE Kevin Spacey as well – he’s great in “The Usual Suspects”

  11. Katelyn says:

    I have been having a hell of a time trying to figure out what to write about too, maybe it’s something in our Oregon air. (We just got dumped with more snow, I hate this acronym but, wtf?)

    I freaking love Wings. Watched all the seasons on Netflix as well. Now I have moved onto Everybody Loves Raymond.

    • Katelyn says:

      Oh and you changed your layout, didn’t you? When I abandon a horribly written, boring post, I go and play with the appearance of my blog…

      • Maggie O'C says:

        I did change my lay out and eventually I will make bigger changes but that will take actual work 🙂

        Netflix is the best. I’ve watched all of Cheers and all of Frasier.

        Are you getting the big storm today? We just get rain, sigh.

  12. Brilliant bubble gum story. I have something similar for you. I was in church one Sunday, not understanding what the man was talking about and fiddling in my mothers handbag to pass time. I found a hairbrush and, for no discernible reason, got a section of the front of my hair and wound it round and round the brush. As I attempted to unwind it, I realised it was tangled and stuck so as I panicked, the brush sat on my forehead in a big ball of hair which I tugged at in vain. I had to ask my mum to help and she was really annoyed at me! Oops!

  13. Both dresses look good. As for the bubblegum incident in your youth — what the hell were you thinking??????????? Then again, what were you when you did that, 15 or 16? That is an asshat age. When I was 15, my mother had to have a hysterectomy. A friend visited our house and asked, “Where’s your mom?” I said, “The hospital. She got herself spade.”

  14. sealemahlo says:

    This is an example of an oxymoron, you started out saying that you had nothing to write about but ended up writing this excellent piece of literature. Both dresses do indeed look good, though they seem like they are for a stroll in the park. They could be accessorised with russet brown wedges.

What do YOU think of me?

