I’m Also an NFL Prognosticator

I don’t know if you all remember waaayy back in the fall when I wrote my NFL update columns but I did. This weekend the San Francisco FortyNiners and the Baltimore Ravens secured their places in Superbowl 47 to be played February 4 3 in New Orleans.

You will see from the excerpts I’ve included below that I totally called this outcome waaay back in September.

In my AFC review I wrote this:

“Baltimore Ravens – (1-0) I’m willing to give the Ravens a chance because they have such a clever literary name. I’m finally accustomed to saying Indianapolis Colts instead of the Baltimore Colts. LaLa lives in Baltimore and my BFF Kitty is from Baltimore so I will give them a thumbs up.”

“New England Patriots — (1-0) I get annoyed just typing the name of this team. I LOATHE the Patriots. LOATHE the Patriots. DEPLOOOORRE the Patriots and their little Tom Brady, too. And Bill Belichick or however you spell his name. Oh wait, I know how to spell his name:  C-H-E-A-T-E-R   C-R-Y-B-A-B-Y. Please note I didn’t give them any colors in their name because I don’t like them. Two thumbs down.”

Later in September I had this bit of analysis:

“HAHAHAHA the Ravens beat the New England Patriots.

Ah HAH…. I mock you and everything you stand for Tom Brady!”

Yet another post of keen football insight brought my readers these pearls:

“Even though the Ravens lost; keep cheering for them and QB Joe Flacco  because he is a charming, self- deprecating guy according to the interview I saw on ESPN yesterday. The Ravens lost to Philadelphia yesterday which I would have been slightly ho-hum about until I learned that Michael “My pit bull can eat your pit bull” Vick is the Eagles quarterback. The Eagles can suck it. The Philadelphia Eagles are firmly on the NO list.”

“The Patriots lost bwaaaahahahahaha”

And it was clear months ago, that the NFC really didn’t interest me that much so I didn’t even bother to watch the game yesterday.

“Atlanta Falcons – (1-0) Meh.”

“San Francisco 49ers — (1-0) I have to say I am rather comme çi – comme ça on the 49ers. I loved Joe Montana…hottay! SF is a great city. I have detested the ‘niners for a long time because my ex-fiancé is a fan but we have ironed all that out so I won’t hold that against the team. Do with the 49ers what you will. I can’t do everything for you.”

So I think it is completely evident that I called the Ravens-49ers Superbowl four months ago.

I might write a Superbowl prognostication post so check in here before you call your bookie.

Tagged , , , , ,

27 thoughts on “I’m Also an NFL Prognosticator

  1. twindaddy says:

    Man, there’s a wee bit of Patriot hate here. How chilling.

  2. unfetteredbs says:

    well done Maggie 🙂

  3. I am completely awed by your football prowess. You called ’em way back and should get proper cred. Very impressive, Miss Maggie.

  4. Brigitte says:

    You are a woman of many talents, Maggie. I wouldn’t know the difference because I know absolutely NOTHING about football, but I like it anyway…hey, how’s it going? 😉

  5. Anonymous says:

    What’s with the Patriot rage? comedy!

  6. Can I rub your forehead for good luck?

  7. Addie says:

    Hurry with the Super Bowl predictions, I’ve a $5 bill burning a hole in my pocket.

  8. Caroline Sherman says:

    You have an ex husband, And an ex fiancé?

  9. Diane Chambers says:

    “Ray”vens by 11. All five NFL bird teams have made the Super Bowl but only one has ever won it. You can also teach a raven chick to talk just as well as a mynah. Gold miners don’t usually have all of their teeth. It’s an easy call.

  10. Oh yes, Maggie, you did predict this outcome. Las Vegas odds makers should listen to you! I was born and raised in San Francisco and I was sitting on the side of the end zone when Dwight Clarke made the play known as “The Catch” off the Dallas Cowboys at the NFC Championship game in 1982. That was the first year that Joe Montana took the Niners to the Super Bowl, and the year that I moved to New York. After enduring so many seasons of the Niners never making it near the Super Bowl, they finally started their dynasty in the 80s and 90s the year I left San Francisco. Since my family still remains in the Bay Area and seeing the Niners win at least one more Super Bowl would mean so much to my 85-year-old dad, I’m going with the Niners.

  11. Margarita says:

    Ah, sounds like an interesting Superbowl, Maggie. Well done! 😉 xoxoM

  12. Dang, girl, I forgot about that! Well done!

What do YOU think of me?

