It’s Finally Not Sucktober!

Tomorrow is the four-year anniversary of my mother’s death.  On the 22nd is the seventh anniversary of my father’s  passing. As everyone knows the worst day of all, the worst holiday of all is on the 31st. I don’t like Halloween. I don’t think I was much of a fan even as a child.

For years now, I have referred to this month as Sucktober because clearly it’s not the best month for my family.

But this year it is not Sucktober! It is plain old beautiful October! Life is good, my family has healed up quite nicely, and we can return to our regular fall programming.

In that spirit, I’m going to tell a story of my mother that has nothing to do with her illness or dying. Joan was much more than her cancer, that was only four months out of her 68 years on this planet.

Feisty is a good word to describe my mother. As usual, many of my family’s best stories come from vacations in Gearhart. I’m guessing this story took place in 1991 or ’92. Back then we rented this huge old house which my mother referred to as The Old Barn. It was cavernous, it had a huge living room and a sun room and probably half a dozen bedrooms, front and back staircases, claw foot tubs, etc.

This is the only photo I can find of the interior of the Old Barn. I’m sure whatever John is talking about here was both erudite and illuminating and he doesn’t slur when he’s drinking which helps.

The house had a wooden fence running along the property line. The fence didn’t fence anything in, it just demarcated the line between our house and the house next door. There was a little door, a little gate in the fence clearly intended to be child size; perhaps the owners of the houses had children or grandchildren who liked to travel back and forth through their own little door.

O’Connor vacations in Gearhart always included long cocktail hours of talking politics and history, telling stories, lots of laughter. We would eat dinner late and then the “children” (all in their 20s) would go out to the one bar in town, the Sand Trap. On this particular night, we didn’t all eat dinner together. I know the four of us went out and I know my parents went out to dinner. They had a couple of drinks and walked down to an oceanfront restaurant that I can’t remember the name of. When they returned, we were still out (of course) and they went to bed.

Apparently the people next door had also gone out and had a left a very yappy little dog in the house. After about an hour of the dog barking, my mother had had enough. I can vividly picture her, throwing her blankets off, muttering, “I’ll take care of the damn dog myself!” My mother was tiny, 5′ 1″ if she was lucky, 100 and nothing pounds. She stomped out of the bedroom with my dad (who was a formidable character himself) following her, “Joan what are you doing?!”  As my dad told the story, the last thing he saw was my little mom in her summery cotton nightgown disappearing through the little child’s gate into the yard next door.

A few minutes later, mom returns, no more barking and she and my dad go to sleep. She woke up a couple of hours later to the sound of the neighbors calling for the dog.

In the morning, as I and my bleary-eyed siblings are having breakfast, my mother tells us about the yappy dog and how she took care of it by going over to the house climbing through an open window, bumping into things, finding the dog and tossing it outside.

“Wow, really mom? That’s breaking and entering.”

“Well don’t tell anyone! The dog would not stop barking and what else could I do?”

Right, what other choice did you have?

I went to the beach that day and walked back up the path to the house with the people who were staying next door and their little white dog. We chatted and I asked the dog’s name and blah blah blah. “Her name is Fluffy (or whatever the hell). She’s getting old and is completely blind.” ohhh really?!

I go back to the house and tell my mom that not only did she commit breaking and entering in her nightgown but the dog she tossed out the window was blind.

This is totally my mother. She stuck to her guns. It was the neighbor’s fault that she broke into their house and threw their blind barking dog out the window.

“Maggie don’t tell anyone!”

Sorry Mom, I was never one to keep a good story to myself.

My mom and John at Molly’s wedding. She doesn’t look like a hardened criminal.

Tagged , , , ,

37 thoughts on “It’s Finally Not Sucktober!

  1. El Guapo says:

    Wonderful way to remember her!
    And thanks so much for introducing us to her – sounds like a fantastic lady!

  2. mimmtt says:

    Great story. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Lauren says:

    This is awesome. Your mom was way cooler than my mom is.

  4. A gripping Life says:

    I can just tell by looking at her picture that your mom had spunk! What a great story, Maggie. I’m sure you miss her terribly but telling the stories keeps her memory alive and close in your heart. Great post! Thanks for sharing.
    Lisa xoxo

  5. Your mother sounds great, and I love hearing about wonderful mothers… not having had one myself -, but my heart bleeds for the little dog yapping because he was lonely or whatever!!! Did they find him?????

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Yes, they found him b/c I saw him the next day. No thanks to my crazy mother 🙂 I’m sorry you didn’t have a mother. I’m happy that I have my memories even though there are days when I really just want her.

  6. So glad that October feels better for you… it’s such a lovely month…

  7. Brigitte says:

    Maggie, this is so great. Your Mom sounds wonderful and I’m so glad this isn’t Suckober for you. Thank you for sharing this great and special memory. I can see where you get your spunk and your humor. Loved this.

  8. artyelf says:

    Ahh . . . now it all makes perfect sense. Your beautiful mother is where the feistiness comes from! 😉
    Love the story, and the memories of those gatherings.
    And am so glad this is now just another month. ♡

  9. Margarita says:

    Sucktober…that’s funny! And I’m glad it’s no longer that for you, Maggie! xoxoM

  10. wheresyourmom says:

    I did something similar during a camping trip a few years ago. We went to sleep with the rain pouring down. In the middle of the night, the rain had stopped and the campers next to us had been watching a movie in their tent. The DVD had returned to the menu and the music was blaring. I listened to that for just so long and then finally went over to their main power cord and unplugged it from the pole. In the morning, we heard them wondering why their coffee pot wouldn’t turn on, then they finally realized they were unplugged.

  11. unfetteredbs says:

    Awesome memory– made me giggle! No more sucktober….I like that! I’d like to channel your mom and get rid of that dog next door who keep pooping on my lawn. Think she’d help?

  12. A Dog With Fleas says:

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful story of your mother. Sounds like a great “sassy” woman who was a lot of fun. Happy for you that you can enjoy this month now and relish in the memories of this great woman. Thanks for sharing!

  13. My mother bought her rainbow in October, too, twelve years ago after a prolonged illness that ate through practically the entirety of the 90s. When I remember her, she’s alwasys who she was before she got sick. I’m glad my mind works that way. I’m also glad that this isn’t Sucktober for you this year.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      I like that, “bought her rainbow’. I’m sorry that your mom was ill for so long. Now both my parents are the healthy themselves in my memories and dreams. October is too nice a month to suck for too long.

  14. Fish Out of Water says:

    You’ve got good memories. It’s not the same, but it helps. I’m happy for you that October doesn’t suck.

What do YOU think of me?

