I Miss Being a Housewife

I really do. I took Wednesday off. Annie had to register for her sophomore year and I had a bunch of driving around to do so I told my boss I wouldn’t be in.

I had such a great day. First thing in the a.m., Mudd and I went for a walk in the morning sunshine. I did laundry and cleaned the kitchen. I watched “Frasier” and “The Golden Girls” and “Murder, She Wrote”. I didn’t sit down and watch but the shows were on as I moved from room to room. I had the front door propped open with a tin pail of shells and the french doors opened up to the back yard. It was a glorious sunny day but not hot, I don’t like it hot.

Summer in my backyard. A housewife would look perfect in that yard.

I woke Annie up around 10 and we went to the high school for registration. Last year Annie was the new kid and didn’t know anyone. Kids were hugging and shouting for each other after not seeing one another over the summer but Annie didn’t know any of them. What a joy it was to see the contrast this year. Girls squealing, “Annniiiieee!!” Boys giving that cool high school nod, “hey Annie.” Sometimes it’s bittersweet watching your kids grow up but registration was just sweet. (I could have gone with Sweet and Weak there but that’s Simon’s territory, if he ever returns to it. Simon? Simon, can you hear me??)

Annie had her “on-location” acting camp and I was carpool driver for that. I had to pick Brigid up from a friend’s house. We returned to the abode and I cleaned and we watched “The Family Guy” and laughed so hard we weren’t making any sound at all. “What’s your favorite holiday?” “9-11”. That is so twisted, LOVE that show.

Picked Annie up from camp, took her to her dad’s. Back to the house, took Brigid to her sleepover at another friend’s home. Back home to my clean house and fresh sheets. Ahhhh….

I shouldn’t miss being a housewife because I had years of it, 12 to be exact. It was great to be home when the girls were little and in all honesty, they are both old enough and busy enough that I would most likely get very bored being at home.

Little Annie

and Little Brigid, don’t need me to be at home anymore. (Emit wistful sigh).

I’d probably get bored if I were home FULL time or if I weren’t so BORED at work. Honestly, I do NOTHING. My company has NEVER laid anyone off because of a slow work load or unneeded position so I’m not going to get laid off and receive unemployment. Nope, that’s not going to happen. My goal is to have a new career set up by my 2 year anniversary of working here which is in January. Today I’m going to apply for a part-time fundraising/event planning job which is what I truly want to do. I could do that and get some writing gigs and and and work from home and sort of be a housewife but not fully a housewife. Get it?!

Any words of wisdom for the underemployed? Anyone? Anyone at all?

Help me before I read one more story about the Naked Prince Harry! By the way, Harry if you’re reading this, you rock! You’re 27, take it all off! Although Grandma Queen is probably more than pissed and she looks like an intimidating little lady.

Tagged , , , ,

26 thoughts on “I Miss Being a Housewife

  1. Brigitte says:

    Mags, your girls are so beautiful. The grass always seems greener….but you sound as if you’re unhappy. And I’ve been there in a job I hated and was boring to me. Plus, you’re way too talented. GOOD LUCK with the event-planning thing and I KNOW you can get some writing gigs. Sending you good thoughts/prayers.

    Also, enough with Prince Harry. I’m tired of seeing the same naked pics with a black box covering his crotch. He’s a bad boy, young — whatever. Who cares???

    Mentioned you on my blog. You better go over there or I’m going to get my feelings hurt. xo.

  2. Le Clown says:

    Maggie,
    How about becoming the president of the unofficial fanclub of China?
    Le Clown

  3. Fish Out of Water says:

    I love those pictures do much!

  4. CheeseButterBeerSister says:

    What cute pictures!! I will never forget that headband!

  5. aallegoric says:

    I really cracked up while reading this πŸ™‚ Love your sense of humour! (And gosh, I love Family Guy and I know this episode where he says 9-11…. damn, I laughed so hard at that although it is, as you put it, twisted)…

    I have a student job that’s terribly boring… but I somehow get over it πŸ˜‰ There are worse things than being bored to death – as long as the salary is okay πŸ™‚

  6. The Itty Bitty Boomer says:

    Ms. Maggie … I was unemployeed until a month ago – and was working on starting an independent meeting planner business …. when MY DREAM JOB just came along! The Villa!

    I wish you everything good in finding your own path …. and passion! It’s well worth the journey ….

    Hugs to you!

  7. La La says:

    I often feel underemployed and I have no advice to offer because I am grateful for this position. At least for now. Cute pictures!

  8. I’m still getting my act together for my new career gig, so I’ve been a housewife of sorts lately myself. It really does get boring, Maggie, you’re right. I don’t have kids, but there’s only so much emptying of the dishwasher, laundry, cooking, food shopping, and house tidying a person can do without losing her mind. So I try to get out of the house a lot (when I’m not watching reruns or blogging).

    And you speak truth about Prince Harry. My only disappointment in him is that he held his hands over the royal jewels so I couldn’t see what he was packing.

  9. Addie says:

    I think about a career (again), but, it would mean leaving the house on a regular basis, and, I’m not sure I can do that yet.

  10. Margarita says:

    Sounds like you have plans for full employment YOUR way. You go, girl! xoxoM

What do YOU think of me?

