All the Great Weekends End with a Monday.

Great Weekend

This past weekend my college buddy Janet, or Jane as I call her, came to visit me from the Bay Area. Janet and I went to Colgate together and saw each other at our last reunion, which you can read about here and here. Oh and here. Wait a minute, and here, too. The last time we saw each other, prior to Reunion, was in the 90s before I got married.

Manhattan Beach ’93, when life was a beer commercial.

That photo was taken when we were 28. That is as hot as I’m ever going to get and in Manhattan Beach, 4th of July weekend 1993, I looked like a dowdy Catholic school librarian. I was no where near tall enough, blonde enough or thin enough to be in Southern California so I returned to Oregon.

19 years later, Jane and I are divorced mothers of two girls each.

All grown up. Summer 2012. Now we drink Pinot Gris.

We had such a great weekend. It’s good to have out of town visitors because it reminds me to do things I don’t normally do on weekends. This past weekend, instead of doing yard work and cleaning, Janet and I drove through the gorgeous neighborhoods of Portland (where I don’t live), I showed her my elementary school and high school. We went shopping on NW 23rd which has a bunch of unique, not mall stores and great restaurants. And I discovered new stores and bought new things!

Saturday night we went to dinner at my pal Eden’s who was part of the Do You Still Have Your Ovaries crowd back in the spring. We had a great evening of laughter out by the fire pit and a scrumptious dinner. It was Lisa’s birthday weekend so we had Tiara’s and Birthday Cake which is way better than Toddlers and Tiaras.

Better than Toddlers and Tiaras, right?

On Sunday, we were lucky enough to have another gorgeous Oregon summer day. We retrieved my girls from their dad’s andtook them out to lunch and then to what is now a Portland landmark, where I have never been.

VooDoo Doughnuts. “The Magic is in the Hole”

VooDoo Doughnuts has doughnuts not normally found in other doughnut shops.

Cap’n Crunchberry and Pink Bubblegum doughnuts.

Doughnuts made Jane and Annie happy. And full to the point of puking.

Sunday night Jane and I went out to dinner with Derwood so she could make a full report back to the Colgate crowd on the man in my life.

Just a perfect weekend. Lots of laughs. Lots of old memories and creating new ones.

Great Weekend.

Monday

I think I have mentioned that I am the most senior person in my office if you count seniority by what year you were born. I’m 7 years older than my boss. I’m horribly underutilized and regularly bored. (They are really nice people and I have a paycheck and  good medical coverage so I’m grateful.)

This summer’s company picnic was cancelled because so many people in the Oregon/Washington offices were unable to attend. In our staff meeting yesterday (there are only 6 of us right now) we discussed alternatives to a company picnic.

The activity discussion took over the meeting.

Let’s:

  • go to a Timbers game (Portland’s MLS team, great fun, every game and seat is usually sold out so logistics are tough.)
  • watch cycling at the velodrome, “they ride at a 45 degree angle”. Yes let’s, that would be great.
  • Roller Derby – keepin’ Portland weird.
  • Oktoberfest but it’s in Septemberfest – I didn’t know this about Oktoberfest but it is indeed in September. No one wanted to do this.

S., who is 29, is booked every weekend and everyday till October because she is on three Dodgeball teams and refuses to miss a game and she’s also on a football team and she goes paddleboarding and camping and all of her friends are getting married this summer and she has  a dog and and and and….”why can’t we do something in October?”

I’m the old lady. I’m old enough to have spawned a couple of these engineers.

Shoot me. Make them stop talking

Well, what about:

  • Lasertag
  • Paintball
  • Disc Golf– do you have a bag of discs? because you will need a driver and a mid-range disc and a putting disc and a 9 iron disc. Hey! Here’s an idea…can we just go play golf?

Please let me out of here.

We have made an executive decision which means I grimaced enough that we’re going bowling.

I need to work from home with wine and doughnuts.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “All the Great Weekends End with a Monday.

  1. badfads says:

    I’m in awe of those doughnuts. I may have to attempt to make the Cap’n Crunchberry one, even though I have none of the ingredients or a deep fryer. And it’s so good to see old friends–sounds like you had an amazing weekend.

    And that is exactly the problem with social work events in any kind of diversity. Someone is going to be physically impossible to schedule around, and everyone else is going to have a different idea of fun. Bowling is probably the best compromise, though. And I support working from home with wine and doughnuts. I intend to do my homework this evening while drinking my new, schmancy whiskys.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      We went to a place called Flying Pie pizza for lunch and then to doughnuts and I was full up to my jaw bone.
      During the meeting, I did say, “there is a chance S. just won’t be joining us.” So everyone just simmer down.

      Welcome home!

      • badfads says:

        That sounds amazing in every way.
        Good decision, making sure everyone else isn’t inconvenienced due to one person’s insane schedule.

        It’s good to be home, especially with N in tow. I’d missed him like crazy.

  2. La La says:

    Now…I also drink pinot gris. Is that okay with you? Do you want to hang out?

  3. Simon says:

    That sounds like an awesome weekend and I am also jealous of donuts topped with cereal, so genius. I love weekends like that when you put aside the chores and just enjoy where you are. I need to work at home with wine and donuts too, that should totally be a thing.

  4. Margarita says:

    Working from home is really not all it’s cracked up to be…bring the wine and donuts to the office and THEN the games will begin! xoM

  5. Brigitte says:

    Maggie, oh it sounds like you had such a great time! When company comes it does force you to explore and do things you would’ve never done. The pics are awesome btw and the 28-year-old you looks hot as does the 20 year later you. Wine I can do, doughnuts not so much. Unless they’re non-glazed and I agree with Margarita, the working from home thing has its downers too.

    Bowling — really? Well, at least they serve wine there, right? Or maybe beer? :).

  6. AmyVC says:

    As you know, I do work from home and the trick is to learn how to not let work interfere with wine and/or doughnuts (or do-nots, as I call them). Work can get in the way of EVERYTHING if you let it, so part 2, section 1 of your business plan (immediately following your pay schedule) is to not let work interfere with drinking or eating.

    I will be hosting webinars soon on this topic, with a syllabus that includes bringing wine and doughnuts to the webinar host. We can pick cohorts based on red or white, bacon or crunchberries. Other suggestions?

    xo

    • Maggie O'C says:

      You know with your wit and photography skills you could give up your day job and become a blogger. And don’t you know me well enough now to realize that I NEVER have EVER let work interfere with my personal life?!

  7. Andrew says:

    I’ve always wanted to go to roller derby at least once. I don’t know if it would be weird, bad, or awesome. My dad talks about the time when he was a kid and went with his mom. A riot broke out during the game, and riot police and tear gas were introduced. Fun family time.

    Post script- I heart frisby golf.

  8. travellingmo says:

    That sounds like a fantastic weekend! My boyfriend lived in Portland for a few months and loved Voodoo Doughnuts.

    I went bowling with my work people, but I am young and they are not as much my seniors. But I did put some vodka and juice in a metal waterbottle to bring with me. I heartily recommend it. Your bowling gets worse but you have more fun!

What do YOU think of me?

