Following in the Footsteps of Some of the Great Bloggers

I can’t think of anything to write. I have read about it from Dotty and Madame Weebles and now I’m joining their party. I can’t think of anything to write.

I’m no longer allowed to go into the high school to interrupt filming so I drop Annie off at the door and wait outside when she is finished. Which means no more good “Mom asses out on the movie set” stories.

I’m waiting for the okay on the photos from the Bastille Day party. So no incarcerated youth Bastille Day party story.

I’m bored to the point of rigor mortis at my job. I am primarily grateful that I have a job that allows me to almost make ends meet. Secondarily, I am tired of being hopelessly underemployed. Truthfully, I look at the internet all day everyday. I look for jobs, play Friends with Words, read blogs, write blogs even when I’m writing about not writing. My plan is to have a career transition in place or almost in place by January which will be my 2nd anniversary here. I’d like to freelance or do contract work creating content for small businesses. I just don’t know for sure how to make that happen.

Just back from a long weekend in Seattle with my pal Lisa and her girls. Here is a photo of me and Lisa. We are Mutt and Jeff but I’m growing to not hate myself in photos so much.

Tall thin Lisa with her short pal Maggie

There isn’t much to write about the weekend. We went to the King Tut exhibit which is terrific and awe inspiring. The artifacts are beautiful and shockingly well-preserved.

Born in Arizona, moved to Babylonah, King Tut! Photo courtesy CK.

We went to the Museum of Glass in Tacoma, Pike Street Market and the Seattle Aquarium. It was a great, great weekend as it always is with Lisa and her girls but there are no hilarious anecdotes that will translate well. I will not be able to convey how hilarious it was when I rose up in defense of Suri Cruise, only to realize Lisa was talking about Katie Holmes and not her 6-year-old daughter (who by they way, should walk on her own more often.) See? You’re not laughing. However, I assure you, my reaction was really good comedy.

Holding Lisa down in a tide pool. “No one puts Suri in a corner!” See you don’t even know what the hell I’m talking about.

I could write about the abominable tragedy in Colorado but Brigitte has done it far better than I ever could. One thing I will say is that it was good to be out of town to not watch the news. Lisa and I discussed the issue of news watching after a horrible event like the theater massacre in Aurora. I don’t want to watch news on it and I usually don’t because I don’t want to contribute to the sensationalizing of the shooter/murderer nor do I want to leer at the pain of the victims. But there is another side of me that wonders if I should watch to make sure …. you know what? No. There is no other side for me. I get that it’s news but I can’t watch it. I hope the guy gets the death penalty and not a stay in a psych ward. God Bless the victims and their friends and families. I do not have adequate words.

I have however just written over 570 words about not being able to think of anything to write. This is my first summer blogging. Is summer the slow season?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “Following in the Footsteps of Some of the Great Bloggers

  1. La La says:

    My first summer too, that’s the sense I get as well. Looks like you had a fun weekend! Inspiration will return soon, I’m sure of it!

  2. pretty darn good for not having anything to say – can’t wait for a post when you are inspired

  3. clownonfire says:

    Maggie,
    You just made a post about nothing. Seinfeld will ask for royalties. He’s a douche.
    Le Clown

  4. Your “nothing” post was actually full of a bunch of stuff, Maggie. I love aquariums (aquaria? aquarii?).

    And being mentioned in the same sentence as the great Dotty Headbanger is a thrill.

  5. Margarita says:

    You kept my interest for 5 minutes. Your nothing was good! xoM

  6. Brigitte says:

    Maggie, I swear I was going to do the Seinfeld comment by Le Clown beat me to it. Sounds as if you had a great time in Seattle — love that city and wish I could visit it again. It’s been years. You’re still funny and interesting even when you’re writing about nothing. (oh and good pics and thanks for the mention.)

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Your post was so good and well-written. Thank you for writing it! Seattle is a great city. I wouldn’t want to live there but I always love visiting.

  7. artyelf says:

    You have such a beautiful smile, it’s a lovely photo! Thanks for being brave enough to post it.
    And was great to read of your adventures. ♡

    • Maggie O'C says:

      I’m going to let my crazy show here….am I brave because my boobs are so big and I look ridiculous?

      • artyelf says:

        NO!!
        Because you posted a photo, there’s no way I could do that!
        But now I have a lovely image of you in my mind when I read your words –
        even if you may be a tad crazy!!!

        • Maggie O'C says:

          OK. Thank you. I feel better. My boobs make me crazy so I figure everyone else is fixated on them, too. 🙂

          • artyelf says:

            I honestly didn’t even notice . . .
            but now that you’ve brought it to my attention,
            I’ll have to take another look! (just kidding!) 😉

  8. unfetteredbs says:

    mix one part M Weebles +one part Le Clown +one part Dotty divided one part safety measure of Brigitte and your post gets written for you…

  9. Cheryl says:

    I read the whole damn post. Decided I was bored stiff at work too and joined Pinterest in protest. I’ve just frightened myself into action. I believe I’ll outline an erotic romance novel….

  10. Andrew says:

    Well for a blog about nothing, I was extremely entertained. It was like a hike with a view, and none of the horrible exercising.

  11. Simon says:

    I am glad that I am not the only one just kind of winging it right now, kudos to you for writing and I enjoyed it.

  12. Kathy V. says:

    Meh, ideas seem to be hard to come by this time of year. And people don’t seem to be reading as much, either. But hell, as long as you have Weebles and Le Clown to liven up the comments, how bad can it be? Plus, a lot of people are writing about having nothing to write about, but you’re doing it better than any of them. (PS — Your boobs look fab.)

  13. […] pal Lisa (see here and here) had a baby shower to go to this past weekend and invited me to tag along with her to NYC. Delta […]

What do YOU think of me?

