Happy Birthday Dear Annie!

This makes me laugh really hard. June 1997

 

15 years ago today, I was in labor with my first child. I woke up on the 9th knowing I had an appointment with my doctor and that I had a really bad stomach ache. Looking at the photo above, which was taken at my office baby shower almost a month before Annie was born, you can see why my stomach might have hurt. I am 5’3″ and I weighed more than 180 pounds, a lot of me hurt.

I told Mitch that I thought I was in labor and we should go and he said, “Can I meet you there, I’m really tired.” Sure, now he says he was joking but he didn’t sound like he was joking at the time. We went to the hospital but it wasn’t time yet so we took the dog to my parents’ house, went home got some stuff and went back to the hospital. The day progressed and I found out that labor hurts like a mo fo. I was hooked up to monitors for me and the baby. I could watch on the digital display as a contraction came on and I was scared of that little digital read out. “oh no, another one’s coming!” Seriously, labor contractions really hurt.

Then I thought of those three magic words: Epi Dur Al!!! I had a very long needle stuck into my spine and couldn’t feel anything below my hips, couldn’t feel my legs at all and blessedly, I couldn’t feel my contractions any more. I also started vomiting, slept, got a little delirious and the baby’s heart kept stopping. After the second baby heart stoppage, the doctor came in and said, “we have to go get this baby right now.” I told Mitch to call my mother. He did that and put on scrubs and 11 minutes later Annie was born! July 9, 1997 around 10 p.m.

Annie weighed 8.98 pounds, her given name is Anna, she was born on 7-9-97, she was palindromic.

She also aspirated meconium (look it up) and couldn’t breath very well so she spent our five days in the hospital in the Neonatal Intensive Care. That was embarrassing. I would get wheeled down to the NICU past parents who couldn’t even touch their tiny preemie babies to see my giant almost-9-pound baby Huey. Hahahaha.

Annie in Palm Springs 1998

 

Annie was a wonderful baby. She slept through the night at 11 weeks and woke up smiling and happy every morning. She was the Sunshine baby.

Annie 2012

Happy Birthday Dear Annie, Happy Birthday to You!

I am so proud of my girl. She is brave and funny and smart and kind. Mitch and I did good. Now I’m crying.

In other news, I weighed myself this morning. The baby weight is almost gone, they say that last 10 pounds is the toughest.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dear Annie!

  1. La La says:

    She’s so pretty!

  2. Brigitte says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANNIE!! Such great pics, Maggie and thanks for sharing this special day. Your girl (both as a teeny one and now) are gorgeous. Don’t hit me but you do seem to be glowing in that pic of you, despite that baby weight. :).

    • Maggie O'C says:

      hahaha, maybe I was glowing, hell I just got a Curious George print, that’s glow worthy. I hated being pregnant with every ounce of my being except for the part where I got a baby at the end. Other than that it sucks 🙂

      • Brigitte says:

        Oh, I thought it was all roses and feeling wonderful and magical about the whole creating life — I am a goddess thing because I am. No? Well, you’ve just destroyed my whole fairy tale about that. Still, you did glow there. just sayin’

    • Maggie O'C says:

      hahaha, maybe I was glowing, hell I just got a Curious George print, that’s glow worthy. I hated being pregnant with every ounce of my being except for the part where I got a baby at the end. Other than that it sucks 🙂 And Thank you!

  3. Simon says:

    Beautiful post and beautiful daughter. Hilarious last line as well. Happy Birthday Annie.

  4. Annie’s a beauty. Happy birthday to her, and happy 15th Mom Anniversary to you!

  5. Happy Birthday to Annie! I LOVED the pics 🙂

  6. Derwood says:

    Happy Birthday Annie! You’re the best singer I know that didn’t know they could sing!

  7. unfetteredbs says:

    what a wonderfully warm post about your beautiful daughter and motherhood. Enjoy your special day… they go way too fast. Congrats on the baby fat loss 🙂 Last ten are murder.. 18 years and still have not lost mine haa

  8. clownonfire says:

    Dear Annie,
    Happy birthday from Canada. I’m sorry your mom gave away Obama to us. You had a wonderful gift just there.
    Le Singing Clown

  9. Andrew says:

    Happy birthday to Annie, and a hardy congratulations to you for giving birth. I’m still too scared to try it myself.

  10. thewhitetrashgourmet says:

    I was fairy tale pregnant – loved every minute. Happy birthday to your beautiful baby girl!

  11. Margarita says:

    Happy birthday to Annie! Nice work Maggie & Mitch! After 20 years I just stopped fretting about the last 10 lbs. 🙂

  12. acflory says:

    Laughing!!!!!! That last 10 pounds…. Oh god my face hurts 😀

  13. Kathy V. says:

    Happy (now-late) Birthday to Annie! She’s gorgeous. You should absolutely be proud! (PS — Your package is finally in the mail. June kept kicking me in the head, so I didn’t get it out until yesterday. Sorry!)

  14. jules1707 says:

    She is gorgeous! Happy Birthday Annie xx

  15. susan says:

    happy birthday to both of you! you are a wonderful writer, maggie. keep it coming. i had a similar experience just a little over a month later, though no neonatal. 9lb 3 oz, though, & emergency c section. whee.

  16. […] was induced with Brigid because things hadn’t gone that well with Annie. The worst part of Brigid’s delivery day was getting the pitocin into my system. I kept […]

What do YOU think of me?

