It’s Maggie’s World, They Just Live In It

I’m going to be 47 and I need to lose 30 pounds. Now I’m 47 and need to lose 20 pounds so I’m trending in the right direction.

I started this blog to document my weight loss journey but as it turns out, dieting isn’t that interesting. I think it would be if I had 100 lbs to lose and I had been abandoned by my husband who left me for his trainer or some other tragic side story but nope. I’ve had a pretty comfortable, generally happy life. Not that it’s over, just so far so good.

Characters in my life:

Annie – 14-year-old daughter. Very dramatic and very kind and funny. Couldn’t find her way out of a paper bag with a map.

Annie although she is now new and improved without braces.

Brigid – 12 -year-old daughter. Dancer, needs to be right almost as much as her mother does.

Ex-husband – Mitch, my ex-husband. Good guy even though the cat hates him.

This is the only picture I have of Mitch on my work computer. Clearly, Mudd loves him.

Derwood – Deren, once and future and current love of my life.

That is me with him, we were hiking. We go hiking.

Mudd – Canine love of my life.

Mudd and Sugar, the Mitch-hating cat.

Stevie Wonder the Garbage Toddler — 4-year-old nephew living with us for a few months. Also goes by Matt.

Steve can also play the guitar

Molly – Stevie’s mom and my sister who is also living with us. My 14s of readers may know her as my social conscience and life coach who let me have Diet Coke even though I said I gave it up for Lent.

Molly with Marty, who blogs at AustinChickenScratch

Pavlov — Husband of Molly, scarily handsome and a crazy man who makes sure I can lock my doors. Also known as Sebastian

Pavlov is very handy around the house.

Katie – Molly’s twin who lives in Denver. She lived with me last year and she was more of my butter and cheese coach.

Katie with her friend, Beer.

John – our brother, no one’s twin. He plays golf sometimes. He didn’t like being last on the list but he has never lived with me (aside from those first blissful 17 years) so I forgot about him.

I live in Portland, Oregon where I am one of 7 registered republicans. I have a B.A. in French from Colgate University which is going to come in handy when I help my children with their French homework.

Me with RC Cola and John. Please note jigger and scotch on the counter behind us.

Life is good and happy but it turns out I’m a little chunky which brings us back to where we started…Someone Fat Happened.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “It’s Maggie’s World, They Just Live In It

  1. This is sooo cute! You have a beautiful family! 😀

  2. Joanie says:

    Blessed!

  3. Simon says:

    First I will say that you have a beautiful family and i appreciate you giving a glimpse. Secondly, how freakin awesome is the bottle of scotch and jigger in that picture? Classic.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Oh you’re nice! I like to see what the people I’m reading look like and even if my readers don’t, I’m still working on other things so they’re stuck with this.

      And yeah, my siblings and I learned early on what “3 fingers of scotch” meant or to be careful when measuring a capful of vermouth.

  4. jules1707 says:

    Awesome post…I love the way you write…its just so funny and your posts always make me smile 🙂

  5. I’m so glad you commented on my comment on The Single Cell. Helped me find this lovely blog. Great descriptions of the people in your life.

  6. Brigitte says:

    Like your style and your blog, Maggie — you come highly recommended and I’m glad I’m stopped by. Personally, I think you’re fine the way you are (gorgeous family BTW and I especially like your 12-year-old’s name, there aren’t that many of us out there). 🙂

  7. Maggie O'C says:

    Thanks! After I had Brigid, my dad called to make sure I had spelled the name right b/c he preferred your spelling. Yeah, I spelled it right dad there are lots of ways to spell it. I just had a c-section…do you wanna go? hahaha

  8. Elisa Clegg says:

    Hi, the whole thing is going perfectly here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing information, that’s really fine, keep up writing.

What do YOU think of me?

