Panic Order

I don’t think I mentioned in my last blog that on this week’s Weigh In Tuesday I lost 1.5 pounds which brings my total weight loss to 7.5 pounds! That made me so happy that I had a patty melt and fries for lunch on Tuesday.

Today I had a lunchtime panic which didn’t do my diet any favors. I was out picking up my contacts, hadn’t brought lunch so I had to pick somewhere to go buy lunch. I chose Burgertown because they have Gardenburgers and sweet potato fries, which would at least be healthier choices than a Quarterpounder with Cheese and medium fries. I don’t go to Burgertown  often so I assumed they had Gardenburgers and sweet potato fries.  I went to the drive-through and because I am not familiar with the menu, I was frantically searching for the Gardenburger and sweet potato fries while the woman on the speaker was asking me what I would have.  There’s no Gardenburger or sweet potato fries. There is something called a Spicy Anasazi Bean Burger and a Yukon & White Bean Basil Burger but those seemed rather intimidating. I panic ordered a Seasoned Turkey Burger, which now that I have eaten it I realize anything with that much mayo on it was not a healthy alternative. And the sweet potato fries? That’s a seasonal menu item and apparently that season is not now so I had regular potato fries in the regular size. I should have asked for small but I didn’t know if they had small and I was kind of freaking out and ultimately I agreed to whatever the woman on the speaker suggested.

This fast food lunch got me thinking about my dieting strategery and I have a plan. My sister Molly and wundernephew Matt are coming to live with me for a couple of months while their new house is being built. Molly hates the state she lives in so much that she needs to just get out of there. (I’m not naming the state because I don’t want to offend any of my readers who might live in Texas.)

My strategery is twofold:

  1. Molly is a vegan
  2. Molly is bringing her TRX straps or something like that.

I will eat more like Molly and do the TRX workouts that she is having her trainer write up for her. Molly says if we do the workouts, we will be flitting (she said “flitting”) about in no time. Thinly flitting about is what we will do. Molly’s tiny so I’ll just copy her. When my sister Katie and I lived together it was an intense, months long competition to see who could make the most yummy fattening food using the 4 food groups Cheese, Cream, Salt and Red Meat. The competition included subcompetitions in who could eat the most and who could drink the most alcohol. We didn’t flit.

Katie has since moved to Denver (Colorado not Illinois) and she loves it. She is currently temping at a hospital in the facilities department. She takes calls from people asking things like, “Can you send someone up here with a set of vice grips or something, we can’t get a nail out of a patient.”

I’m telling you about my sisters because I have nothing. I’ve only blogged once this week and I can’t think of anything else to write about and it’s rude to write about nothing because readers will be sorely disappointed and stop visiting my blog and I will lose my 7s of followers.

I have some interesting things coming up. Derwood and I are going to Whidbey Island this weekend. Something interesting could happen up there. I believe we are going to go on a hike that I saw featured in Sunset magazine.

Me. Hiking. Yep.

Next week I’m planning on going Bollywood dancing with my friend Danni. I don’t even know what that means but as a blogger, I need to be open to new experiences. Hiking. Bollywood dancing.

In March Derwood and I are going to put on our sophisticated intellectual pants and attend a talk on “The Egyptian Revolution: What’s Next?” by Colgate President Emeritus Thomas Bartlett. I could give the speech, you know what’s going to happen next? The Muslim Brotherhood is going to happen next and they will foment more hatred of America. I could have given the talk but they didn’t ask me. I also really want to see their apartment because it is in a LOVELY building that I have always wanted to go inside.

So while you are waiting for me to write something, anything interesting; check out this blog by a guy who makes me feel like a loser for even thinking of labeling myself “blogger”.  http://thegoodgreatsby.com/2012/02/17/pop-some-champagne-for-my-new-domain/

He is such a great blogger, he is bloggitudinous!

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Panic Order

  1. Cheryl Hansen says:

    Sometimes one just gets “writer’s blogk” and has to accept it. We who have blogged understand and empathize.
    Next trip to Burgerville, try the salad. There’s no mayo.

  2. Maggie O'C says:

    I noticed the salads but I couldn’t read the descriptions and I was panicking. Perhaps next time I’ll walk inside and stare at the menu for awhile.

  3. Amy says:

    You did okay, being in a panic and all. I would have most likely ordered a margarita in that situation. Even with writer’s blogk (I’m borrowing that from Cheryl, she’s clever), you still are delightful. I’m stuck at 4.5 lbs. I haven’t exercised all week. I think there’s something there. Miss you! xoa

  4. Molly says:

    For future reference, the yukon and white bean basil burger is yummy! I think Sebastian eats the adzuki bean burger, so I wouldn’t get that.

    Oh we will flit. Just you wait and see!

What do YOU think of me?

