Comfort Food

I’m moving this post over from the old blog site and I think it is good enough to keep over here. It was a controversial post to begin with so I guess I’m just stirring the pot again.
 
I have moved on to Step 2 of my Sparking. I graduated from Step 1 a week early according to the Sparkpeople computer who (that, which?) informed me that I had earned 25 points and moved on to the next level which is all about diet and portion control. If you control your portions, they really aren’t very big. That may seem elementary to my fives of readers but news to me. I recently learned that butter has 100 calories per tablespoon. 100 Calories!! What the hell? No wonder I’m so fat, I had no idea. I figured butter was fattening but I didn’t realize the fattening reality of butter.  Last night I bought “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter….. Lite”. Sigh.
Sparkpeople sends out a lot of email. Some I read, “7 Comfort Foods that are Good for You.” Others, I don’t read, “The Winter Workout Guide” (actually I did check that one out and it tells the reader how many calories can be used up making snow angels. Living in Portland, I would end up making dirt angels which probably doesn’t use up as many calories and I probably wouldn’t look that fun or darling or festive doing it. “Oh no, who’s that chunky middle-aged woman flailing on the ground? Kids get back over here, leave her alone!”)
I was intrigued by the good news about comfort foods being good for me because I figured that macaroni and cheese, chicken pot pies, and chocolate chip cookies were not going to be a part of my diet. I eagerly clicked on the article to discover the magic behind the 7 Comfort Foods that are Good for Me. Um…ehemmmm, the title says, “Comfort Foods.”
Get ready for the 7 “Comfort” Foods:
1. yogurt with fruit
2. fruit smoothie
3. chicken noodle soup
4. angel food cake
5. oatmeal
6. vegetable juice
7. crock pot food

Comfort Foods? To comfort what??? Those ain’t no freakin’ comfort foods. OK, chicken noodle soup is a comfort food, it is good for one’s soul and soup is good food but that is the only item on this list that in ANY way resembles a comfort food. I don’t know what to think about the crock pot food. I have crocked once and it was chicken that wound up looking like stewed brain. I gave the crock pot away and have never crocked again.

Comfort foods are warm and cheesy and buttery. They are thick and saucy, just like me!! (Hahahaha Stop it Maggie you are too, too!) Comfort foods inspire reminiscing about your childhood, cool fall days and grilled cheese sammiches and tomato soup, Campbell’s Tomato Goddam Soup! Vegetable juice doesn’t conjure up any childhood memories for me other than my dad sometimes liked V8 or Clamato with a beer on Saturday mornings.

Comfort food is stew or meatloaf, chocolate chip cookies from scratch, mashed potatoes, my Mother’s spaghetti sauce which she always swore was no big thing but I’ve never been able to recreate it, my Mother’s minestrone soup for that matter, also incredibly good. But not my Mother’s fruit smoothie, not my Mother’s plain yogurt with berries in it. What in the name of God are the Sparker’s talking about???
I did some research of my own and found many, MANY lists of comfort foods from websites on Home Cooking, from Countryliving.com and foodnetwork.com, Wikipedia! And if it’s on Wikipedia, it’s true. All of these lists include many of the same foods. Comfort Foods, REAL Comfort Foods are things like: Chicken Pot Pie Meatloaf (I will post my sister’s amazing meatloaf recipe in next post) Macaroni & Cheese (with real cheese and ½ and ½) Chocolate chip cookies Chocolate Cake Chili Brownies Lasagna Apple Pie Risotto Fried Chicken. (Interesting aside: I work with a woman from Italy who went to Friar Tuck’s in Portland for Fried Chicken. Friar Tuck’s is YUMMY fried chicken. She didn’t like it and gave it to me and I ate it, stopping short of sucking the marrow out of the bones. Here’s the interesting part, she’d never had fried chicken before! She’s in her 30s and had never had fried chicken! It seems that Italians don’t make fried chicken. Those people have a lot to learn about good food. So it wasn’t an interesting aside but it was an aside.) Tuna casserole I could go on but I’m getting hungry. I’ll go eat a portion (bad word!) of fruit. How comforting.
Lastly, I entered to win a $1000 Amazon Book gift card. Fingers crossed because if I win, my friends are going to be getting book presents from me for a long time.
Lastly, lastly…it was 9:15-9:30 this morning when I realized I was walking around with my jeans completely unzipped.

 

14 thoughts on “Comfort Food

  1. Maggie O'C says:

    Reblogged this on Someone Fat Happened and commented:

    I’m having 25 people for dinner tonight. I mean 25 people are coming to my house to eat dinner. Even I couldn’t eat 25 people. So I can’t blog but this is from right at the beginning of Someone Fat Happened.

  2. Comfort foods …. schmumfort foods … I’m with YOU, girlie! Good luck with your 25 people for dinner …. maybe one of them will qualify as comfort food … lol!

  3. Addie says:

    Those are comfort foods for stick thin models who chew it 5 times then spit it out. I’d rather YOUR version of comfort foods.

  4. La La says:

    I’m hungry.

  5. acflory says:

    lmao – oh Maggie 😉 I’m a foodie and I’m about 7 kgs overweight [no idea what that is in pounds sorry] but I stopped worrying about calories a long time ago. Why? Because it’s health that counts, not calories! If you focus on eating lots of fresh fruit and fresh vegetables with a nice bit of meat and then slowly cut down on your ’empty’ carbs your body will reach whatever level it’s meant to be at. And it will be healthy!

    I cook with real butter, real cream and real sour cream as and when it’s called for but I don’t eat those meals every day. The trick is to balance the fattier things with the less fatty. One trick I’ve learned is to cook big hearty casseroles [stews?] a day ahead. Then I just skim off the congealed fat from the top before reheating. You get all the flavour with hardly any of the fat. It takes a bit of effort and organization but it’s worth it to get that wonderful rich burst of goodness on your tongue without having it march straight down to your hips a moment later 😉

  6. I think the sparkpeople (sidenote: I thought I had heard of EVERY diet out there, but this one is new to me) simply made a few typos when they made their comfort foods list. Just an honest mistake, I’m sure. Here’s what they MEANT to write:

    1. yogurt with fruit drizzled lovingly over a chocolate brownie

    2. fruit smoothie blended to perfection with a pint of vanilla Haagen Dazs ice cream

    3. chicken noodle soup with a grilled cheese sandwich on the side… hell, make it two sandwiches.

    4. angel food cake soaked in hot fudge, then topped with whipped cream and a cherry (fruit serving!!).

    5. oatmeal… actually forget the oatmeal… go for the pancakes and maple syrup. That’s what we meant to say. Oh, and don’t forget the sausage.

    6. vegetable juice with vodka. Enough said.

    7. crock pot food (assuming your crock pot is big enough to fit the entire contents of the Hostess display from your grocery store inside).

  7. Simon says:

    what planet is yogurt comforting? (the re-posting is a good idea, I should have thought about that before I wrote the most unfunny blog entry ever today)

What do YOU think of me?

