DIY Post in Pictures …. Mostly Pictures

We have a newly-remodeled bathroom at my house, all thanks to me …. and the other people that worked on it.

The project started in October when the long promised remodel to the girls’ craptastically gross bathroom began.

This is the before of their bathroom. Obviously I had tried out a paint color.

This is the before of their bathroom, showing the test paint color.

Please not the lights over the mirror, they had singed the ceiling.

Please note the lights over the mirror, which had singed the ceiling. You probably don’t notice the lighting because  you are so taken with how the girls organized the bathroom sink area.

IMG_4865

Bath rug was white at one point. I hated to remove the linoleum but the girls insisted.

More awful Before details. Bath rug was white at one point.

Please note towel bar, it looks nice, right? Even though it was ugly, it also fell off the wall often.

I taped the mirror in case it shattered which it didn't. Came off smooth as silk, pretty much.

I taped the mirror in case it shattered which it didn’t. I did the demo by flashlight, which is even more dangerous!

Nasty old glue and the hole for original medicine cabinet.

Those aren’t chocolate swirls but old glue which  doesn’t look that toxic and the hole for original medicine cabinet.

Derwood dismantled sink and vanity from 1981.

Derwood dismantled sink and vanity circa 1981.

Close up of toxic waste and hideous bamboo tile that I personally removed without help from anyone.

Close up of toxic waste and hideous bamboo tile that I personally removed without help from anyone.

Empty of vanity and most of the floor. By Derwood.

Empty of vanity and most of the floor. By Derwood.

new sink positioned new light connections in place by contractors.

New sink positioned, new drywall and light connections in place by contractors.

Taped and began painting.

I taped and began painting.

Then I stopped painting for a few minutes to throw this shoe away.

Then I stopped painting for a few minutes to throw this shoe away.

Return from Denver and Voila!!! New bathroom!

Return from Denver and Voila!!! New bathroom!

Quick trip to Target and it is even prettier!

Quick trip to Target and it is even prettier!

The girls are really happy with their new set up. Still need some artwork, wastebasket, towel hooks but it’s not bad!

This morning Brigid informed me that the sink is leaking so contractor is coming tonight to fix. Before leaving for the office this morning, I was putting a bucket underneath to catch the water and thought, “I’m in hell.”

Oh wait, no, you’re not, you jackwagon. Your bathroom sink is leaking. You aren’t sitting next to your daughter’s hospital bed so why don’t you get on with it ass hat?!

The parents of my daughter’s friend Katie, who is still sedated but has made it through two surgeries, have requested that everyone crank Katie’s favorite song today, eat some Junior Mints or go for a swim, say a prayer. Thank you.

Tagged , , , ,

17 thoughts on “DIY Post in Pictures …. Mostly Pictures

  1. The remodeled bathroom looks great, Maggie!

    Yeah, dealing with a leak is pretty insignificant when one considers that life and death matters are The Real Deal when it comes to what is crisis-worthy. I hope Katie pulls through and goes on to lead a long life with her health restored.

  2. Brigitte says:

    Maggie, love the new bathroom. You should put up on one of those before and after decorating sites that are so popular. Did you know orange is used a lot in marketing because it makes people happy? I guess a bathroom is a very good place to be happy.

    I love that U2 song and I’m keeping Katie in my prayers.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      thanks Brig. The color is called “Begonia”, that’s happy sounding to me.

      I’ve never liked the U2 song (or U2) for that matter but it’s stuck in my head and making me happy :)

      • Brigitte says:

        Really, how can that song not make you feel good? U2 was once, I think, a religious band. I like some of their songs, but I appreciate music for its worth; however it came to be.

  3. Addie says:

    It looks great! I said I’d never reno again after this summer, and here I am, doing it for someone else–well, I point, someone else does it, but, you know what I mean.

    Keeping the prayers coming for Katie!

  4. Bathroom looks just ok. Off to eat some Junior Mints for a good cause! F yeah!!

  5. The bathroom looks great – the shoe totally cracked me up :-)

    Hope Katie is better quickly..

  6. Gorgeous remodel! I recently remodeled our guest bathroom. It was a ton of work (as I can tell your project was) but so worth it in the end! :)

What do YOU think of me?

