The Same Old Teenage Story aka Every Parent’s Nightmare

I remember my mom telling me about three kids in her senior class who were killed in a car accident right around graduation. I think they were hit by a train. When I was a freshman, a senior at my high school (Lake Oswego High School) was killed in a motorcycle accident. Last year, my friend Kitty’s daughter had a friend who died texting and driving. Too often across town, across the state, across the country; the news covers stories of teens who have died in car accidents.

On a Friday night in 1982, my BFF Trish and I dropped off my parents at a dinner less than a mile and a half away from home. We were driving back to my house for an evening of frozen pizza and movies on VHS. The streets were slick from the typical Oregon rain. I took a turn too fast and the giant O’Connor family station wagon spun around 360 degrees a couple of times. As luck would have it, there were no other cars on the road. We stopped and Trish and I looked at each other wide-eyed. Whoa! I was shaking a bit and carefully drove the rest of the way home.

Why would I do that? Why would I drive too fast around a sharp turn on wet streets in the dark? Because I was 17 and it was fun! I well remember the excitement and liberation of driving around with my friends in the car, no adults telling me to be careful, slow down, put on your signal. I am in charge of this hunk of steel and it is like driving a giant roller coaster car! Being a teenager can be a heady, exhilarating time; a time to believe you are indestructible. Time is on your side. Sadly we all have stories, we all know being young doesn’t guarantee longevity.

I was in Denver this past weekend visiting my sister. Saturday morning Katie told me, “Kathy posted on Facebook to pray for the LO girls in the car accident.” Um, what? My girls go to Lake Oswego High School. I did assume if one of them was in an accident, I would have received a call. I texted my girls and heard back from Annie. Sure enough, three of her friends were in a car, most likely driving one of them home after the football game.  Annie’s friend was driving too fast around a curve; a dangerous curve that has been a great one to take too fast since I was a teenager. The driver couldn’t control the car on the curve and went into the oncoming lane and hit another SUV head on.

In the blessings department, the people in the other car were not hurt. One of the girls was taken to the hospital and released. The driver had to be cut out of the car and remains in the hospital in fair condition.

The third girl is in the hospital in critical condition. I know this girl’s name well because she was one of the first to welcome Annie to LOHS when Annie was the new kid at school freshman year. This girl is on the dance team, she is actually as nice as she appears to be, well-loved by her family, friends and students, teachers, neighbors, etc. She is one of the good kids. The future is bright, it is blinding with possibility.

Today, she is in a medically-induced coma to help control the swelling in her brain. This is crunch time. Pray hard. If you don’t pray, just think good thoughts. She has pelvic surgery today, I’m guessing because they can’t put it off. She’s 17, she’s just a baby. I don’t know her family but I have cried or felt like crying since I heard the news. I think, “what if Annie had gotten a ride in that car Friday night?” I think of the terror of realizing the car was going to crash. I think of that phone call. Oh God, that phone call. And now her parents sit at the hospital praying the doctors can fix their girl.

And I, like millions of other parents, will continue to teach my child to drive. I will make her crazy with all my instruction and warnings. I will pray that I can convince her to be careful. Annie’s friends’ only crimes were being young and reckless because that is what the young are.

There is a Facebook page for updates which now has more than 1,000 followers. The family asks for prayers and good vibes, eat an Oreo and say nice things and mean them. I pray that a lesson can be learned here without any fatalities. I know we aren’t the only community to go through this but we need all of your prayers to who/whatever you pray to.

Jeremiah 29:11:
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord,“plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”
Tagged , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “The Same Old Teenage Story aka Every Parent’s Nightmare

  1. Brigitte says:

    Ah, Maggie. I will say a prayer and I will pray hard. xxoo

  2. unfetteredbs says:

    It is every parents nightmare. I will say a prayer.

  3. Praying.I can’t imagine what the parents are going through right now.

  4. Addie says:

    Prayers said, a candle will be lit.

  5. davidprosser says:

    Good thoughts going out to every child injured everywhere and for their parents too. It’s a heartbreaking situation to be in.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  6. Shared on my facebook – having been the mother of two teenagers, and now the grandmother of two teenagers, this is, without a doubt, one of our biggest nightmares. Big hugs and love to the families and smooth, quick healing to the children.

  7. Kids always think they’re immortal. I hope she pulls through, makes a full recovery and urges other kids to resist indulging high risk thrills behind the wheel.

  8. Ina says:

    Beautifully stated, Maggie. Brought tears to my eyes. That poor family, my heart goes out to them and to their daughter fighting for her life. Most importantly, I hope she makes a full, quick recovery, but I also hope all her classmates can learn from this and back off on that invincible notion teens have.

    • Maggie O'C says:

      Thanks lady. I wish we could teach them but sometimes I think the only way you learn is to get old enough to look back and say, “that was stupid. Glad i lived through it.” Sigh.

  9. Maggie -

    This is so sad! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the girl who remains in critical condition.

    With my daughter nearing the driving age (she’s 14 now), this subject is all too present in my mind. The thought of her behind the wheel of a car makes me cringe because I know all too well how invincible teenagers feel – they think nothing can touch them…. until it does.

    I lost my step-sister, Shannon, in a car crash back in 1998. She was 19-years old at the time. The saddest part (beyond losing her, obviously) was the fact that she was trying to do the right thing. She was in her dorm when she got a call from her boyfriend at 2am – he was at a party drinking and called her to come pick him up because he was too drunk to drive. She did. She lost control of her car, wasn’t wearing a seatbelt, and ended up going through the windshield. Her boyfriend survived unharmed.

    With all the things that can go wrong, especially through our teen years, it’s really a miracle any of us makes it into our 20′s and 30′s. All we can do is learn the lessons we need to learn (some of them, the VERY hard way), and pass those lessons along to our kids…. and hope to god they stick.

    Linda

  10. Nic says:

    :-( Sending up many prayers and positive vibes.

  11. […] I wrote here last week, on the night of November 15, three girls who are juniors in high school and friends of […]

  12. […] my daughter’s friend, who was in a serious car accident the night of November 15. Please see here and here.  Katie is in the process of eating the elephant cookie, of recovering from a traumatic […]

What do YOU think of me?

